Honey Barbecue Meatloaf

Meatloaf just sounds horrible. Like honestly, why would someone give any food a name like “meat loaf?” I am actually a person who loves this dish, but I know a lot of people don’t, and when asked why they say, “it just sounds gross.” And they are right. But the meat loaf I made tonight was far from gross; it was scrumptious!  I spent about 2 and a half hours this afternoon at a TRX fitness training, cycled for 30 minutes, and then played volleyball for a little over an hour with some people at my school, so let’s just say I was a little hungry when it came dinnertime. 🙂 I made this recipe a few weeks ago for Ryan and I, and we both loved it so tonight seemed like a perfect night to make it again. Except last time, Ryan and I ate most of it the night I made it so we didn’t have that much for leftovers, so I decided to double the recipe tonight. 🙂 In case you can’t tell, Ryan and I LOVE leftovers!

But I can’t take credit for this awesome recipe. I found this recipe over at Andie’s blog, canyoustayfordinner.com. I pretty much went exactly by her recipe, except I doubled everything to make more. And since I was in a hurry I turned the oven up to about 450 degrees instead of 350 because Ryan had to go work on a group project in the library, and I wanted it to be done in time for him to eat before he left.

IMG_1934

Here is the meat, bread crumbs (I used breadcrumbs instead of putting a piece of bread in the food processor to make it easier), seasonings, and sauces all mixed together and made into a loaf. In her blog, Andie warns you not to pack the meat too tightly or it will be very dense and tough. Next I poured half of the sauce mixture on the loaf before putting it in the oven to bake.

IMG_1935

Since I turned my oven up so much, this baby only took about 30 minutes to cook! The end result:

IMG_1940

It came out looking delicious, and tasted even more yummy than it looked! I enjoyed a pretty large piece, and Ryan enjoyed two pieces. After dinner we were full and happy. 🙂 Here is my plate. I also had some steamed brussels sprouts and some mashed cauliflower.

IMG_1939

Now, I am sad to say, my mashed cauliflower was not as much of a success this time as my meatloaf was. And when I say it wasn’t as much of a success, I mean it was disgusting! I made this before and Ryan and I both really liked it, but sadly, I did something different this time and it was not good at all! I am pretty positive that I added too much milk and vinegar this time, which gave it the bad taste. I hate wasting food, but I had to end up throwing the rest of the mashed cauliflower out because I couldn’t make myself eat the rest. I did, however, make myself eat the part that is pictured on my plate.

Even though it wasn’t good this time, I really do like mashed cauliflower and I encourage you to try it! Ryan, who is very picker and isn’t a big fan of vegetables, even liked it last time! So check out the link here to see how to make it. But I will be honest, it will look like mashed potatoes, but it doesn’t taste like mashed potatoes. It isn’t bad, but it’s different. Ryan, however, always eats his mashed potatoes with honey, so he put honey on his mashed cauliflower and said it tasted exactly like mashed potatoes to him! Anytime I can get my man to eat vegetables I’m a happy girl! 🙂

Wow, I can’t believe it is already Sunday night. Why do weekends have to go by so fast?? Oh well, back to the grind tomorrow! I hope everyone has a fabulous Monday!

Have you had any fails at recipes lately?

How did you spend your Sunday afternoon?

3 comments

Leave a comment