Forever Fitness Challenge and Saturday Morning Workout

Man, Saturdays seem to go by way too fast! Today was a great, relaxing day spent with Ryan and my family. Tonight we even got to watch my absolute favorite movie, Father of the Bride.

Father of the Bride movie

This movie is old, but such a classic! It had been so long since I had watched it, so now watching it as a soon to be bride made it even more special. I might have teared up a lot
a little. πŸ˜‰

I started my day off with a good workout before heading to see my family. I ran three miles on the treadmill followed by some strength training with the awesome Bodylastic resistance bands Ryan gave me for my birthday.

I ran the first two miles at an 8:00 minute per mile pace, and for the last mile I picked it up to a 7:53 pace. For the last 400 meters I ran at a 7:30 pace. Trying to better my time!

After my run I put together this simple, but effective strength workout

  • 10 push-ups
  • 50 russian twists
  • 15 squats with 13 lb resistance band
  • 10 shoulder raises with 8 lb resistance band
  • 1 minute elbow to hands plank (For this plank I start out on my elbows, come up to my hands, separate my feet, then go back down to my elbows and bring my feet in. I continued to do this for one minute.)
  • 10 diamond push-ups (on my knees)
  • Β 10 tricep curls with 5 lb resistance band

I went through this circuit a total of three times. After my run and this circuit, I was a sweaty mess! It felt good to get in a workout before beginning my fun weekend though.

Forever Fitness Challenge

Next, I have some exciting news to share with y’all! I am taking a part in Abbey’s Forever Fitness ChallengeΒ that she is hosting on her blog,Β http://findingmyforever.blogspot.com/.

I wanted to share my fitness goal with you guys so I can keep y’all updated on how I am doing and on the progress I am making.

My goal is going to be to do at least one type of sprint or speed workout a week. Such as going to the track to do 100 yard sprints, or 400’s or 800’s. Also, I want to get my average mile pace down for my mid distance and longer runs. Right now when I go out and run six miles or so I usually run about anywhere from an 8:25-8:35 pace. I would like to get that down to an 8:05-8:10 pace. I know that incorporating spring workouts into my training at least once a week will help me attain that goal.
I am going after this goal because I used to be a much faster runner than I am now, so I want to try to gain some of my speed back. When I was in high school I trained hard, ran sprints, not just long runs, and my results and times were better. Since I have graduated from high school I never do sprints anymore. I just go out for long runs, and I know my times have become slower because of this. Also, I do not push myself as hard as I used to, but instead I just go out and run at a comfortable pace. I know I can get my average mile pace down if I just push myself a little more instead of making sure I stay comfortable.

This will be a challenge for me because it has been about three years since I have really tried to push myself while running or since I have even gone out and run sprints. I have gotten out of the habit of pushing myself while running, and instead I just run at the same pace I always do. (which is a pace I could run at forever while also having a conversation with someone). I will make sure to let y’all know how my sprint workouts go and if I start seeing a change in my mile pace. And no worries, I will be honest! I am sure y’all will hear about my days that just aren’t good running days for me, and days when I feel like I will never achieve my goal. But I have learned over the years that all runners have good and bad runs, so you can’t let the bad ones keep you down. You just gotta keep on going!

I hope everyone enjoyed their Saturday! I know I sure did! I definitely enjoyed the yummy meals I got to enjoy at home.

IMG_1924

For lunch I had a chicken sandwich loaded with veggies and guacamole, plus some baked chips, guacamole and grapes on the side.

IMG_1926

Β For dinner I enjoyed grilled chicken, salad, green beans, brussel sprouts, potatoes, and corn which is not pictured.

I hope everyone enjoys the rest of their weekend!

What fun Saturday plans did you have?

Do you have any new fitness goals?

7 comments

Leave a Reply

