Week of Fitness 1/27-2/2 and Meal Planning

Good morning! I was up early this morning (as usual), so I thought I could bust out a quick post as I finish up my meal prep for the week! First, let’s go over this past week’s workouts. In case you don’t remember, I went down on my mileage this week for my marathon training. For four weeks straight I increased my mileage every week, so this week I went down to give my body a break. I will be increasing my mileage again this week.

Monday: 3 miles. This was supposed to be four, but Monday was extremely cold here (at least for us Texans 😉 ) and very windy, and three miles was all I could endure.

Tuesday:This HIIT cardio strength workout 2xs

Wednesday: 3 miles at a harder and faster pace than normal and my Work All of Those Muscles workout 3xs through

Thursday: Unexpected race day. I was going to run four miles before work, but I didn’t sleep well that night and was sniffling the whole night. So when my alarm went off at 5:00 a.m. I knew I needed to let my body rest. I really wanted to run because I didn’t know if I could get my workout in any other time, but sometimes rest is more important. That afternoon I did our grocery shopping for the week so I couldn’t work out then either. It’s okay though, I’m sure my body appreciated the extra rest.

Friday: Yoga video from doyogawithme.com. This video focused on doing a deep release for my hips, hamstrings, and lower back. I felt so good after this! I also did a 60 minute plank after the video before I had to go get ready for work.

Saturday: 8 miles

Sunday: Rest Day

I really went back on my mileage this week, but now I’m really ready to get back to some longer runs this week! This week just seemed crazy, so I’m reading for a good week of workouts!

Now for this week’s meals:

Saturday (last night): stuffed spaghetti squash that was so good! Courtney called it “Sensational Stuffed Spaghetti Squash” for a reason! I did mostly exactly what her recipe said, but instead of a couple of slices of bacon I added tempeh for protein, and I didn’t use goat cheese because we didn’t have any of that.

Sunday: Wing it. I’m not exactly sure of our plans for tonight since the visitation is tonight. We might be with family later tonight, we might not. We will just see how it goes, and if we end up being at home, we have plenty of food so I can throw something together!

Monday: Baked coconut shrimp with Amy’s twice baked potatoes

Tuesday: Lentil walnut loaf with butternut squash and some type of other vegetable.

Wednesday: Black bean and butternut squash burritos with guacamole, veggies, and chips for Ryan. Instead of rice for this recipe, I am going to use quinoa.

Thursday: Crock pot lasagna soup. Since I have started doing my grocery shopping on Thursdays (which I love, now I don’t have to deal with the grocery store on the weekends! Whoo!), I learned that I definitely don’t feel like cooking once I get home from the store. So having a meal already prepared in the crockpot this night is going to be wonderful!

Sidenote: I plan on doing a post sometime in the near future about my whole grocery list, and how I shop on a budget!

For meal prep this week I chopped up four onions, four bell peppers, sliced up three bell peppers for snacking, washed, peeled and cut up carrots for snacking, sliced and baked a butternut squash, roasted broccoli, squash, zucchini, and mushrooms for side dishes, chopped up a cup of diced broccoli, cooked 2 cups of quinoa, and chopped up mushrooms for eggs and salads during the week. This will make my week oh so much easier! 🙂

Lastly, I know I have mentioned this a lot, but I definitely want to buy my own domain and self host my blog. I need some suggestions of good companies to use for this! Any advice you can give I would greatly appreciate! I have used up all of my free space for media on the free version of WordPress, and I am ready to improve this little blog of mine! 🙂

I hope you all have a great Sunday, and please continue to keep my family and I in your prayers. I should be back posting on Tuesday. 🙂

Questions:

1. Blogging advice for me on my own domain name and on self-hosting?

2. How was your week of workouts?

3. What are you cooking this week? 

17 comments

  1. Girl, I hope you meant a 60 second plank and not a 60 minute plank, because just thinking about planking for 60 minutes makes me want to curl up and die! Haha. I hope you enjoy the baked potatoes! I’m still eating them (they freeze very well!)

    1. Haha I was defintely going to comment on your iron abs that can handle a 60 minute plank. I can’t even imagine doing a plank that long!

  2. I know BlueHost has gotten a lot of good feedback for hosting! Just be aware that there’s no confirmation page before you buy the hosting… I was trying to see how much it would cost and accidentally bought it (for $350+!!). Their customer service is fantastic though and gave me a full refund 🙂

  3. I hope the rest of your day goes OK, I know it’s going to be tough for you and your family. 😦
    After what you’ve been through this week, it’s probably good that you scaled back a little from your running. I’m still praying for both you and your family. Going forward into the week, I’m sure the running will help – it always helps me feel better. And it sounds like you’re doing so great with your lifestyle changes that you’ve made (notice how I didn’t say diet); I’m really looking forward to your post on grocery shopping on a budget. I do think that one of the toughest things is buying healthy foods and planning full meals for the week when you’re on a budget. Especially when you’re married to a finicky eater (like my husband).

  4. I just read your post in regards to Kim. I am so sorry you & your beautiful family are having to go through this. I have also lost two amazing people in my life w/in a 2 week time frame. Hang in there & know she is now your guardian angel ❤

  5. Self host for sure. Blue Host is fantastic! That’s who I use. I’ve chatted with them during the day multiple times whenever I’ve needed help. It’s really nice to have access to the back end of your site! And for sure buy your own domain name, of course you can’t self host if you don’t 🙂 I would love to read all about your grocery budget…that’s something my husband and I are always trying to improve!!

Leave a comment