Time to Reveal a Little Secret

So there is this thing I have been keeping from y’all. I have really wanted to write about it on here, but I have been scared. But today is the day I come out and share my little secret.

IMG_5119

It’s about these feet and these shoes. They are itching for a new adventure…

I have run a mud run.

2012-10-28 22.39.03

I have run three half marathons.

100_1692

I have run in numerous 5K’s and other small races for fun.

IMG_1487 IMG_3904 IMG_3908

I run every week because it’s my happy place.

IMG_4092

I even now have a running belt and a running backpack for long runs.

IMG_4979 IMG_4840

I need a new challenge. That is why yesterday was training day #1 for my first full marathon!!! 

Surprise

Source

Yes a full marathon! I am so excited! Many of you runners out there have inspired me and given me the confidence I need that I can do this. I have wanted to do a full for a long time now because I wanted to challenge myself more, but 26.2 miles just sounded so long. I have been thinking about this for a long time, and I can’t let myself not run a marathon because I am scared or intimidated. I would regret that decision for the rest of my life. I am confident that I can do this! I made up my training schedule Wednesday night and started my training yesterday. The race is April 6. 🙂

I would appreciate any advice from all of you marathon veterans out there! I made my long run for this week yesterday since I am running in a 10k race with my Dad, Aunt, and cousin tomorrow. I did 9 miles yesterday, and next Saturday I will run 11 miles for my next long run. I am very excited about training for this race and I had to share my news with all of you! 🙂

I hope you all have a great Friday and a great weekend! I should have a fun, busy weekend. After my race tomorrow my Mom and I are going shopping, and then Saturday night Ryan and I are going to one of our friends’ house for party. Sunday after church I have a wedding shower to go to, and then I will probably spend the rest of the afternoon meal planning for the week! I’m excited for all of the family and friends I get to spend time with this weekend!

Questions:

1. Have you ever ran a marathon? If so, what are some tips you have for me?

2. What has been your favorite race you have ever ran and why?

3. What are you doing this weekend?

4. Are all of your Christmas decorations put up yet? Mine aren’t. 😦 I have to finish that; it’s just not nearly as fun taking them down as it is putting them up!

38 comments

  1. I know this post would be coming! Congrats! Yes, what race are you doing? Although I haven’t actually RUN a marathon, I started training for one last year, and then got injured. My biggest piece of advice to you would be to not overdo it with your training. As you gradually increase your mileage, you might not want to do as many “hard runs” because you should be focusing on increasing your stamina. That’s my problem; I always want to do some type of a “work out,” whether it’s sprinting, hills, etc. and sometimes I just have to force myself to take it easy.

  2. I’m so excited for you! I totally know you can do this. You love to run, and go on quite long runs for no reason, so this is perfect!! I cannot wait to follow the journey with you and see how it goes 🙂 Good luck tomorrow on your race! I’ve never run a marathon nor will I ever, so I have no advice 😦 Sorry!

  3. Yay!!! I’m so excited for you! I hope your training goes well!

    “For physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.”

  4. I’m so excited for you!! You can totally do this! I have a training plan and several other posts on marathon training on the blog. The long runs are LONG, but it will all be worth it in the end! Have a lovely weekend!

  5. Awesome!! You can totally do it! I ran a marathon when I was in college, and marathon #2 is on my list of goals for this year. I don’t have one picked out yet, but maybe I should pick a spring one and just get to it!
    Also, I just found your blog, and I love it! 🙂

  6. Yay Becky!!!! This is my goal for 2014 as well! 26.2 does sound really long but you will get through it. I’m so excited to be cheering you on from the online sidelines 🙂

  7. My only advice is dont sign up for a marathon in TN when your training takes place during the winter in WI. I ended up with heatstroke at mile 14… but I managed to finish. Good luck!

    FOAM ROLL & STRETCH =)

  8. Congratulations on your big decision! I am so excited for you!! I have run several marathons. Off the top of my head, I would say don’t stress too hard about following a training plan EXACTLY. Stuff happens, we get sick, we have a pain, we travel… It’s the LONG runs that are important. Don’t skip a long run. But if you need to alter a shorter training run, it is no big deal. Also, train on the type of terrain the race is going to be on, AKA: road, trail, hills, flat, etc. I wrote a blog post about this which you might like…http://meggorun.blogspot.com/2013/10/racing-tip-have-dress-rehearsal.html

  9. Its be great if you shared your training plan! I too am running my first full marathon after a dozen half marathons and numerous shorter races…my event is may 4th and I’ve been trying to find a training plan that works with my work schedule and everything else that makes life so hectic! I’d love to see what another experienced runner has taken on 🙂

    1. I would love to share my training plan! I totally understand trying to fit in a marathon training plan with a busy life and work schedule because I am trying to do the same! My plan has worked with my schedule so far, so hopefully you will like it too!

Leave a comment