80th Birthday Party and Homemade Pizza

Are you all ready for a great week?? Let’s be positive and say HECK YES! πŸ™‚

I hope you all had a fantastic weekend! Our weekend was fun, but very busy!

I woke up naturally at exactly 6:12 a.m. on Saturday and layered up for my long run.

IMG_5331

I am so over this cold weather, and by cold weather, I mean like barely freezing. You know, I live in Texas, so I’m a huge baby when it comes to cold. So all of you Northerners are way tougher than me. I apologize for complaining about weather that I can still run in, when a lot of you can’t even run outside it’s so bad out there! But it was 27 degrees when I started my run, and only 32 when I finished, and to me those are some low temperatures!

IMG_5327 IMG_5329

Despite the cold weather, the 15 miler felt great! This is a huge encouragement for the rest of my training!

When I finished my run, I came in and stretched while I talked to Ryan laying in bed. Then I showered and got ready for a wedding shower! One of my best friends from elementary school/junior high/high school is getting married in April, and her shower was Saturday. I am so happy for her, and I can’t wait for her big day!

Oh, and just a tip, if you run a long run and you want to wear your procompression socks or sleeves, just wear a dress with leggings and boots, and no one will ever know. πŸ˜‰ This totally saved my legs Saturday!

IMG_5334

The shower was in the town where my parents live, so Ryan and I drove to their house so my Mom and I could go to the shower together. While we were gone, Ryan, my dad, and my brother, Ben, went and played disc golf.

The shower was beautiful, and Amber was gorgeous!Β It was also nice to see some people from my hometown that I hadn’t seen in a while. Unfortunately, I didn’t get any pictures here, but just take my word that everything was wonderful. πŸ™‚

After the shower I hung out at my parents’ house with my Mom, and with Ryan and my Dad when they returned from disc golf . Ben and Kaleigh came over about 5 that night and we all left to go to my aunt and uncle’s house to celebrate my grandfather’s 80th birthday!

IMG_5360

This is my wonderful Pappy. I guess some people call him Max, but that’s not his real name; it’s Pappy. He is one of the most amazing men I know, and is such an incredible role model and leader for our family!

IMG_5364

My Mom with her two parents!

We all enjoyed a delicious dinner of lasagna and salad, and then homemade chocolate cake with ice cream for dessert. It was so nice being together with everyone and just talking and having fun.

IMG_5361 IMG_5362

Ryan, Ben, Kaleigh, and I played Monopoly for a little bit that night with our two little cousins, Cooper and Cade.

IMG_5363

When we left my aunt and uncle’s house we stopped by Mammy and Pappy’s house so the boys could help them fix on of their televisions. So us women had to get a picture together. πŸ™‚

Ryan and I drove home right after this, where we immediately crashed and fell asleep in bed.

Saturday morning I had a great breakfast!

IMG_5340

I sauteed tomatoes, onions, bell pepper, and mushrooms with some leftover quinoa and then cooked two over easy eggs. When it was all done cooking I topped it with 1/4 of an avocado and some salsa. Then obviously I needed a banana with some peanut butter. πŸ™‚

We went to church that morning, came home and had leftovers for lunch, and then I went to Aldi to go grocery shopping. I came home and Ryan and I got to work making this homemade pizza dough. I had never made pizza dough like this, but Ryan had, so he was such a huge help and taught me some things!

IMG_5349

Once we made part of the dough it needed to rise for a bit, so Ryan and I went to Wal Mart when it rose so I could finish getting a few groceries I couldn’t get at Aldi.

When we got back we finished making the dough, and I cooked and chopped some veggies for the week.

Here is the final crust.

IMG_5352

This recipe is amazing for numerous reasons, but one of the reasons is it was enough to make two pizzas! Ryan and I love leftovers, especially homemade pizza leftovers, so this was perfect for us!

I sauteed onions, bell pepper, mushrooms, tomatoes, zucchini, and squash to put on top of the pizza.

IMG_5353

I am so happy that Ryan eats all of these beautiful, tasty vegetables now! I mean, look at all of those pretty colors, who wouldn’t want to eat that?

We topped our pizza with pizza sauce, the veggies (I also put broccoli on my half), mozzarella cheese, and some pineapple. Once we fixed the pizzas up, we baked them for 10 minutes, and they came out perfectly!

IMG_5354 IMG_5355

This was seriously the most delicious crust Ryan and I have ever had. We absolutely loved it! You need to all try it. And don’t be intimidated by making your own pizza dough, it’s not as hard as it seems. It’s just intimidating, but you can do it, I promise. Plus, Angela gives great instructions and pictures to help you!

The rest of our Sunday was spent cleaning and getting ready for the week. Ryan and I have been talking, and we have decided that we think it would be best if I could do our grocery shopping on Thursdays after work. It’s just so exhausting to do all of the grocery shopping, food prep, and getting ready for the upcoming week on Sundays. Ryan and I love being able to relax on Sundays, but when we have to go grocery shopping, clean, and cook, we just can’t relax. We love being outside when the weather is pretty outside (which it was yesterday), and we want to be able to go outside and enjoy it, and not have to be stuck inside working all day. So hopefully I can start meal planning and grocery shopping at the end of the week from now on!

It was busy, but still a great weekend, so I will link up with Katie! Thanks for hosting girl! πŸ™‚

MIMM

Questions:

1. Tell me some fun things from your weekend?

2. Have you ever made homemade pizza crust? What are some of your favorite toppings for pizza?

3. When do you do your grocery shopping?

4. Will you have a busy week this week?

22 comments

  1. Happy birhday to your Pappy! He is way too cute for words. I’m not sure what sounds more delicious – homemade lasagna, birthday cake, your quinoa/egg breakfast or the homemade pizza. YUM!

  2. Homemade pizza is my favorite! My mom makes the best. Ugh I can’t handle it! Soh ungry. Great job on your long run! I do that in the summer too- wear maxi skirts to hide the sleeves πŸ˜‰

  3. That was a great run that you had! I’m with you, though, it’s too darn cold and that’s coming from a fellow Texan. I think tomorrow’s really going to be bad. I’m heading over to check out that homemade pizza dough recipe.

    1. I think you would love the pizza recipe Kim! And yes, I heard tomorrow is supposed to be really cold!! But then this next weekend is supposed to be nice again; silly Texas weather can’t make up its mind!

  4. I’ve never made homemade pizza. I will have to try it out once I move into my new kitchen. πŸ™‚

    I have the day off so I still didn’t do any grocery shopping – time to get on that. And meal prep!

  5. It sounds like you had a great weekend. You had a great run in those low temps. I would love to experience that cold weather, but the lowest probably gets to about 48 here. The breakfast and pizza looks delicious. I know what you mean on the leftovers. They always seem to taste even better when the flavor get to soak in. πŸ™‚
    Have a marvelous week!

  6. Congrats on the run! That’s awesome!! Feeling better during it is even better. Definitely looks like a really fun weekend. I actually make my meal plan on Thursdays and go shopping on Fridays after work, usually. I just like getting that part done and then have the weekend to start meal prepping. This weekend I did it Saturday while cooking dinner, and it was so nice not to have to do Sunday. I can imagine that it will be harder for me when the weather is nice and I want to be outside!

    1. You are so smart for already figuring out that going grocery shopping before the weekend starts is easier! I can’t believe it took me so long to realize this lol! Grocery shopping and meal planning all in one day was too much for me!

  7. I saw your compression sock idea on Instagram – genius! It’s so sneaky!

    I normally try to grocery shop on Saturday or Sunday. Thankfully, I got my grocery shopping done yesterday because we are expecting a blizzard here in Georgia tomorrow (1-4 inches haha) and people go a bit crazy at the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

