At Home HIIT Workout and Meal Planning

It’s back to work today for me after a wonderful, relaxing long weekend. If you had a long weekend, then I hope you enjoyed it, and if you worked yesterday, I hope it was still a good day. πŸ™‚

Last week I mentioned that I would be sharing a workout soon, and then we had some unexpected plans, so that never happened. So finally I am posting a new HIIT workout! This is one you can easily do at home and if you don’t have an exercise ball or weights, then you could easily do a different exercise for the bicep curls, plank roll-ins, and the ball exchange.

At Home HIIT workout

Here are some links to a couple of exercises in case you aren’t familiar with them.

Plank roll ins on exercise ball

Exercise ball exchange

I love this workout because it works my legs, arms, and abs, plus still throws in some cardio. Plus, for these cold winter months, I love having workouts like this that don’t require me to go outside. πŸ™‚

Like always, if you do this workout, let me know what you think!

Meal Planning

Yesterday I did some meal planning to makes meals easier during the week. I have discovered that pretty much all of the meals I make require me to chop up fresh veggies, and this takes time, plus it just makes more dishes to wash! I have finally learned that if I can chop most of the food I will need in advance, everything will be easier and faster.

IMG_5281

I chopped up two white onions, two red onions, two green bell peppers, some mushrooms, celery, sliced an orange and red bell pepper, baked some kale chips, roasted broccoli and mushrooms, washed, peeled, and chopped two pounds of carrots, and baked some lentil banana muffins from Lindsay. I am so excited to have all of this done, and especially with working full time now, this makes preparing meals SO MUCH EASIER during the week! If you do not already meal prep on weekends (or whenever works for you), I highly recommend it. Plus, head over to Lindsay’s blog on Sundays and she always has some amazing food prep inspiration.

IMG_5283

Yes, my fridge is totally full after meal planning, but it’s worth it. If you don’t have a lot of tubber ware, you will need to invest in some before beginning meal prep. It is worth the investment; trust me. And yes, even though there is only two of us, we will eat all of this food during the week. By this weekend, our fridge will be almost empty and it will be time to go grocery shopping again! We rarely eat out, so we need food for three meals every day and snacks every day. That’s a lot of food!

IMG_5285

Oh and these lentil banana muffins are amazing!! I promise, you can’t taste the lentils, but these babies are full of nutrition and would be a great switch up for your normal breakfast! I can’t wait for Ryan to try them for breakfast. As you can tell from the picture, I couldn’t wait for the morning and had to try them out last night. πŸ˜‰

Oh, and on a totally different subject, I don’t know what the weather is like where you are, but it has been beautiful outside this weekend where I am in Texas!

IMG_5276

Ryan and I enjoyed the gorgeous weather by playing some disc golf at a beautiful park! We left when the sun was going down, and I just had to get a picture! Unfortunately, I think it’s supposed to get cold again later this week. 😦 I guess it is January though, so I shouldn’t be surprised, I just really enjoy warm weather. πŸ™‚

Anyways, I hope you all have a great day! Ryan and I get to go to a hockey game tonight because his boss gave him two tickets! Yay for a fun, free date night! πŸ™‚

Questions:

1. Would you like me to post more workouts on my blog? If so, what kind of workouts would you like to see?

2. Do you meal prep? If you did this weekend what did you cook for the week?

3. Do you like cold or warmer weather better?Β 

 

 

 

11 comments

  1. I’m going to incorporate that workout on Wednesday when I have a HIIT planned. Meal prepping is so helpful. It really saves you the time and stress when it’s time to prepare meals. It’s looks like you were very busy in the kitchen. I will definitely have to try out those lentil muffins!

  2. I do not enjoy food prep but it is important to make my weeks easier and healthier! This week I did butternut squash, sweet potatoes, chili, and steamed broccoli. My husband was supposed to do chicken but as I look in the fridge this am I see he forgot and I’m not sure what I’m supposed to eat after my workout today…. hehhee

  3. Looks like a great workout. I’d love for you to post more workouts – if you want of course.. since it is your blog & all πŸ™‚ Any @ home ones are my favorite… oh & that dont involve burpees. Yes, I hate them lol.

    Love the photo of you & your man. You two are a beautiful couple.

  4. I have been really into HIIT workouts lately, so I will be trying yours this week!

    The weather looks beautiful in Texas! We’ve had some warmer weather in Georgia, but I think it’s going to get colder again this week. I’m a fan of warm and cold weather as long as it is seasonal. If it’s winter, then by all means be cold. But I hate when it’s hot in the winter, or too cold in the summer.

  5. I love meal prepping and I do the same as you. I fix Aaron’s breakfasts, both of our lunches including chopping the veggies, doing whatever I need to to the fruit, putting yogurt in containers, making granola, bagging a snack or two for lunch or the day for both of us. Yes, it’s a lot of work on Sundays, but I love having it all done. All I need to do at night is make a sandwich or pack leftovers, and throw containers into the lunches! Easy! It’s funny because our fridge looks like yours. It’s empty unless it’s the beginning of the week with all the lunch and breakfast in there! haha

  6. Nice workout! I will so have to try that one soon.

    Great job on the meal prep too! Im intrigued to try the lentil muffins now!

Leave a Reply

