The Weekend That Wasn’t Supposed to Have Plans

Hello friends! I hope you all had a great start to the week yesterday, and I hope you had a good weekend. I didn’t get a chance to post yesterday, so I just wanted to get caught up!

This past weekend ended up being incredibly busy for Ryan and I, but the funny thing was we didn’t really have any plans until Friday night. Β I actually remember last Thursday Ryan asked me if we had any plans this past weekend and when I told him we didn’t, we were both pretty excited for a nice, relaxing weekend at home. We ended up hardly even being at home..

We left early Saturday morning to go to Ryan’s eye doctor appointment, and we ended up staying there a couple of hours. We got home so I could change into some nicer clothes, and then we went to meet his parents and grandma for lunch at Cheesecake Factory. I enjoyed some shrimp tacos from their Skinnylicious menu, which was delicious!

cheesecake-factory-blossom

After lunch we went to meet our friend Wood (we call him by his last name since his first name is also Ryan) at his apartment, and then the three of us went to play disc golf at a nearby park. The guys are much better than me, so I didn’t keep up with my score. πŸ˜‰

IMG_4372

(I didn’t get any pictures on Saturday so this is a reused picture.)

We finished our disc golf game right as the sun was going down, so once we got back to Wood’s apartment Ryan and I left soon to meet my parents’ at their storage unit. There was a leak in it, so we helped them move everything to a different unit so that the furniture wouldn’t get wet. After we finished, my parents were nice enough to treat us to dinner to Subway. By the way, in case you didn’t know you can get any foot long sub this month for $5! I got a footlong for dinner, but I only hate half so Ryan was able to half the other half for lunch on Monday!

subway-five-dollar-footlong

By the time Ryan and I got home Saturday night it was a little after 9:00 p.m., so it didn’t take long for us to get ready for bed. I woke up early on Sunday to do my 11 mile run for marathon training, and then Ryan and I went to church that morning. We ate some leftovers for lunch at home, and then went out to meet my parents again. We are hoping to buy a house later on in the year, so we drove around some prospective areas just for fun. We actually did this all afternoon, and it was about 6:00 p.m. when we finally got home. We were so tired, we relaxed for the rest of the night and got ready for this upcoming week. I didn’t have time to go grocery shopping, so I went after work yesterday and got what we needed for the week.

I also managed to finish reading, “Redeeming Love” by Francine Rivers. It was an incredible book, and I highly recommend you all read it!

redeeming love

I’m planning on another good week at work and hopefully another good week of marathon training! Today is cross-training for me so I am doing strength and maybe a HIIT today.

Questions:

1. If you don’t get your grocery shopping done by Monday does it kind of stress you out? It does for me because I feel so behind with meals all week!Β 

2.What workout are you doing today?

3. What was the last really good book you read? I have already started the third book of the Hunger Games series, “Mocking Jay”.Β 

18 comments

  1. Sometimes, unplanned weekends turn out to be some of the best! It sounds like you had a good weekend, and 11 miles?! Props to you!
    I’ve never eaten at the Cheesecake Factory, but I heard it’s absolutely delicious. I should try it out sometime.
    I hope you have an amazing week! πŸ™‚

  2. Sounds like a great weekend! I had Cheesecake Factory too! Yum! I read Redeeming Love the first year that Ben and I were married. Great book! I used to always make my meal plan on Sunday night and then grocery shop on Monday morning (stay-at-home-mom), but now that my kids are getting bigger, I am trying to go on Saturday or Sunday so I can leave them home with their Daddy. πŸ™‚

  3. I’m so jealous you got to go to The Cheesecake Factory! Their skinnylicious menu is so big! I love to order off of it, so I can eat my cheesecake without guilt!

    Isn’t Redeeming Love the best? It’s such a classic for me. I’m so excited for you to finish Mockingjay!

  4. That’s how my weekend was too–was looking forward to a quiet weekend after working 11 days straight but then oil change, church, meeting up with an old friend and meal prep–the next thing I knew it was sunday evening.

    I find it critical to do my grocery shopping and meal prep on the weekends. If I don’t I find myself craving and reaching for something I shouldn’t have.

    1. I am the same way about meal planning and grocery shopping on the weekends. But since there was no way I could have done it this weekend, I am trying my best to do what I can this week!

Leave a Reply

