First Day on the Job

Thank you for all of your sweet comments on yesterday’s post.  I promise I will write about the wedding ceremony and reception next week, so I won’t leave you hanging for too much longer. 😉

Yesterday I started out my post with, “Today is going to be a great day!”, and that is because yesterday I was finally able to sign a contract with my school district and begin my  new job as a teacher! I was so excited! I have wanted to be a teacher since I was in like sixth grade, and the fact that I actually am one now is crazy to me. This is such a huge blessing, and something I am so thankful for!

I heart teaching

When I first announced that I got a teaching job, many of you asked what grade I will be teaching. My job isn’t a typical teaching job that you would think of, so I thought I would explain just a little of what I will be doing for this semester.

My school had too many students in each first and fourth grade classroom last semester, but they could only hire one teacher. The school district also tries not to switch up classes midyear, as that is hard for the students. So they hired me as a teacher for first and fourth grade to help the teachers out. So I don’t have my own classroom with my own group of students, but I share a portable with another specialty teacher (my school is an outside campus if you didn’t know, so most of the classrooms are portables. It sounds like it’s not nice, but it really is!) and I have my own desk and area to do work.

teachers-desk

In the mornings I do whatever the fourth grade teachers need me to do, and then in the afternoons I do whatever the first grade teachers need me to do. It will usually be a lot of copying, laminating, grading, etc, but if they ever need me to pull out certain students and work with them, I could do that too. Also, if any teacher ever has to leave or is gone for some reason, I could step in for them. Then starting next school year in August, I will have my own classroom with my own students. 🙂

I absolutely love my school, and I work for some of the sweetest people, which I know makes a huge difference! I am so grateful for this job, and I don’t mind in the least bit that I don’t have my own classroom and students because I think this is a great way for me to get my foot in the door! Since I graduated in December, I knew finding a job mid-year would be difficult, so I think this is perfect. Besides, if I had my own classroom, my Christmas break would have been spent buying stuff for my new classroom, trying to set it up, and stressing about all of the little things. Now, I will have all summer to decorate my own classroom, and I can continue to learn the rest of this school year from the other teachers.

So some of you probably didn’t care in the least bit about my job or what I will be doing, but some of y’all had asked so I thought I would share. 🙂 If you didn’t care and skipped over this whole post, don’t worry, we can still be friends. 🙂 If you actually did read this post, kudos to you! 🙂

Questions:

1. If you could be a teacher, what would you teach and why? If you are a teacher, what do you teach and why do you enjoy it or why don’t you enjoy it?

2. What workout are you doing today? Today is cross training day for me in my marathon training plan, and I am about to do some yoga!

3. What are you having for dinner tonight? Homemade pizza on sweet potato crust for me! 🙂

 

 

13 comments

  1. Awesome! Sounds like a perfect job to start teaching with so you weren’t stressing out and have time to learn the ins and outs before having your own job! Gives you time to ease into it 🙂 Have a good Friday! Loved the post yesterday. I don’t know if I realized you wore tennis shoes but I love it! They fit perfectly. And $25 for bridesmaid dresses?! Wow!

  2. I’m so glad to hear you are in a job that you love! It sounds fun being able to go between several classrooms.

    I always thought it would be fun to be a high school teacher (yes, call me crazy). I think that’s the age where kids really start making big life decisions and learning who they are, so it would be fun to have some impact on their lives during those years. I would probably want to teach English or health/gym.

  3. Congrats again on your new job! The first thing I thought when you said your classroom was a portable was that it must be cold for you if you have to walk from classroom to classroom in the winter…but then I remembered you’re in Texas. I know it still gets cold there, but I am redefining that word with a whole new meaning after the weather we’ve been having here! It’s going to be in the 30s in Mass today and to me, that feels like being in a tropical island right now!
    My schedule: work, then run 5 miles when I get home.

  4. Hi there! New follower here!
    You and your husband are such a cute couple!
    Congrats on the new job!
    I give huge kudos to teachers because this year I tried to homeschool our two children. Ages 4 and 10.. I’ll just say this: our son (10 yr old) is back in public school. 😉 and our daughter will go to school in August. Even though we don’t agree with everything being taught in public schools, we soon realized that it takes a special kind of person to be a teacher. I’ll stick to being a mom and wife 🙂

  5. Congratulations on your new job and the beginning of a wonderful career in education! As you know, it is truly a rewarding way to spend your days. I am a teacher and I teach K-4 general music and 4th grade chorus.

  6. That is awesome! I’m in my fourth year of teaching, and I can honestly say that I love it, but it is also the hardest, most tiresome and time consuming thing I’ve ever done. I think you’ll be leaps and bounds ahead for next year just by learning the ins and outs of the school, how the routines work, how the administrators expect things, etc. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

