Cheers to 2014

Happy New Years friends! I hope you all had a fun and safe New Years Eve. For the first time in a while I did not make it until midnight last night. Ryan and I went to bed about 11. We were tired and couldn’t make it. I know, we are old.

Happy New Year 2014 Fireworks

I actually feel no shame admitting that at all. We had a fun time last night. We ate dinner and watched The Hobbit. It was a relaxing night at home, which after being so busy for Christmas, was exactly what we needed. Going to bed early enabled me to get up, have a good workout, and then have a nutritious breakfast before Ryan and I start our day.

2014 breakfast

Pumpkin flax pancakes from NuttyAboutHealth.

Today is the day so many people will start new years resolutions. I am not really a big person for new years resolutions, but I do like to think of certain things I want to do for the next year. So here are my hopes for 2014.

I hope to spend to enjoy every moment I get to spend with  my husband, and have fun with him every day.

I hope to spend lots of time with family and make unforgettable memories.

I hope to stay in touch with all of my friends whom I love.

I hope to read new books.

I hope to continue learning about all aspects of life.

I hope to be a good teacher to my students.

I hope to be healthy, challenge my body, and try more nutritious foods I have never had before.

I hope to grow closer to the Lord and to seek His will for Ryan and I.

I hope I get better at reading my Bible every day.

I hope I become a better wife to Ryan.

I have a lot of hopes for the new year, but sometimes what we hope for doesn’t always come true. That’s okay because I trust and have faith that God has a plan for 2014, He knows exactly what is going to happen, and He is going to be there for me through it all. That is enough to get us all excited about a new year! I hope you all have a fabulous day, and I hope you can enjoy today with the ones you love!

Questions:

1. What are you hopes for 2014?

2. Did you make any new years resolutions? If so, what are they?

3. What did you do last night?

4. Do you have any fun traditions for New Years Day? 

18 comments

  1. I thought I wouldn’t stay awake till midnight but I did! Just watched the firework display in London. I really like your hopes for the new year, I’m the same, don’t make resolutions but many are the same as yours. Hopefully at the end of 2014, we can look back happily, knowing that we achieved what we hoped for or gave it our best shot! Happy new year!!

  2. I was SO tired last night & barely made it to midnight. My husband fell asleep. lol
    Hope you enjoyed the pancakes, they look fantastic! Also, some great hopes for 2014 – I don’t really like to do the NY resolutions thing either.

  3. I think “I hope” is a much better way to set “resolutions”- it makes you want to work at them instead of having a small slip-up that causes you to throw in the towel. Happy New Year!

  4. I barely hung in there til midnight. I crashed right after. Ah, the joys of getting old! I like your thoughts on having ‘hopes’ instead of resolutions. I’m not a big fan of New Year resolutions myself. I like to set goals that I know will push me, but still be achievable throughout the year.

  5. I was prying my eyes open by 11 but my parents forced me to stay awake. Yes I’m that rowdy 23 year old who stayed at home with her family… I guess a bad breakup will do that to ya.

    I hope to establish a better relationship with myself and become more Christ-centered. It’s going to be a great year =)

Leave a Reply

