Mini Family Vacation Recap (A Little Late)

So I know I am late on this, but I am finally (one week later), doing a recap on our mini family vacation last weekend. I fully intended on doing a post about our weekend last Monday, but we got home late Sunday and I was too tired to type up a post. Then Monday I was busy doing some food prep for the week since I couldn’t over the weekend, and then Ryan got sick so I made a late night trip to WalMart to get him some medicine. Tuesday I had time to write up a post for What I Ate Wednesday, but then Wednesday night I started applying for schools and that took much longer than expected. Thursday night I had three papers to write for my last college seminar that I had yesterday, so that occupied my whole night. So here I am, finally doing this recap. πŸ™‚

We had a blast last weekend though! We went to my aunt and uncle’s new cabin that they recently bought, and it was so fun because not only were Ryan and I there, but so were my parents, brother, sister-in-law, aunt, uncle, cousin, and her husband and two little boys. This was such a special time, and there were definitely a lot of laughs the whole time.

Here are some pictures of inside the cabin.

IMG_4449

I loved the kitchen! We ate a ton of good meals, so a lot of cooking happened in here this weekend!

IMG_4447

The cabin was a five bedroom cabin so everyone got their own room. This was me and Ryan’s room.

IMG_4493

The living room was open and big, and I loved the high ceilings.

IMG_4453

The back porch was perfect with big, wooden rocking chairs and a hot tub! You can bet Ryan and I enjoyed the hot tub Saturday night after dinner!

This weekend we all worked quite a bit on Saturday to help my aunt and uncle make their cabin perfect! Ryan worked with my cousin’s husband, Clint, on helping put together this children’s play set outside, while the rest of us pulled weeds and vines off of trees and out of the ground.

IMG_4500 IMG_4494

Here was the finished play set! They did great!

Ryan, me, my parents, and brother and SIL also made some time to go sightseeing around the cabin. We drove around and stopped at this beautiful spot to take some pictures.

IMG_4469 IMG_4470

Love my parents!

IMG_4472

Handsome husband πŸ™‚

IMG_4476

Had to get everyone squeezed together for a family picture!

IMG_4484

I have such an amazing brother and SIL! All four of us being together is so special to me and always fun!

IMG_4489

Sunday morning the six of us went out for a walk with our two little cousins. The weather was perfect, and I seriously love just spending time in the beautiful outdoors! The huge trees were so beautiful!

IMG_4497

We also played some horse shoes whenever we had free time.

IMG_4495

I was pretty excited to start this book last weekend. I have to finish soon so I can go see the movie!

IMG_4487

All of the meals we had were amazing, but the only meals I remembered to snap pictures of were breakfasts on both days, and then our lunch before we left. Saturday morning we had bacon egg and cheese sandwiches on wheat English muffins.

IMG_4442

Sunday morning we had biscuits with sausage gravy, and my Aunt Nancy makes the absolute best sausage gravy! I also had an apple with mine.

IMG_4488

Before we left we all ate at a good pizza place close by, and my Aunt and I shared this delicious veggie pizza!

IMG_4496

This pizza was delicious, and my aunt and I were both able to take two pieces home. πŸ™‚Β The rest of our meals were homemade cazones, chicken enchiladas with chips and dips, and roasted hot dogs over the fire Saturday for lunch.

So last weekend we had such a fun time; family time is always the best! I am looking forward to spending more time with family this next week for Thanksgiving!

This weekend will consist of cleaning and getting ready for Thanksgiving this week! Ryan’s brother, sister-in-law, and our two nieces and nephew are all staying with us Wednesday through Saturday, so we need to prepare for them! My parents are also coming over to eat with us tomorrow night, so I need to decide what to cook when they are here!

I hope everyone has a fabulous weekend!

Questions:

1. Do you like going outdoors to places like cabins? I love it!!!

2. Have you read the Hunger Games books? I have only read the first one!

3. What are your plans this weekend?

4 comments

  1. A cabin in the mountains=my dream home/vacation house. I already told Popeye if we ever get a house outside of the one we have right now we are going to the mountains for a cabin! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

