Meatless Monday #2

Hey there! So I have been MIA lately, things just got unexpectedly busy! I had a fantastic weekend with my family this weekend on our mini vacation that I mentioned in my last post.  I can’t wait to tell y’all all about it, but I’m not going to today. I will tomorrow. I was planning on doing an update on my fun weekend on Monday, but by the time we got home one Sunday, unpacked, and got ready for the week, I didn’t have time to blog that night.

Monday night Ryan got sick unexpectedly, so I didn’t get to blog about our second Meatless Monday yesterday. I wanted to make sure I kept y’all updated on how this is going for us, so I wanted to do this today.

So like I mentioned last week, Ryan wasn’t too crazy about the fish tacos I made with tilapia. This week I decided to try salmon, and it was a much bigger success! 🙂 I used this recipe for Cajun Blackened salmon, and it was scrumptious! I didn’t have cayenne pepper or white pepper though, so I omitted those two seasonings, and I didn’t have onion salt so I used onion powder instead. Lucky for me, these few deleted and substituted ingredients didn’t make any difference. 🙂

IMG_4505

I enjoyed my salmon with some roasted broccoli and squash, and then some sweet potatoes and butternut squash. I LOVED this dinner!

IMG_4506

Ryan had everything I had with his salmon, except for instead of broccoli and squash he had green beans.

So I said last week that I promised to always give my honest opinion and Ryan’s. You already know I loved this meal, but the best news is that Ryan liked it too! When I asked him how it was, he said it was actually good! He said it wasn’t chicken or a cheeseburger, but it was still good. That’s a win in my book. 🙂

Now I am a huge fan of the What I Ate Wednesdays, and I have always wanted to take part in this, so today I finally am!

WIAW

Here are a few more of my eats.

IMG_4508

Yesterday morning for breakfast I had veggie egg burritos in corn tortillas, topped with some avocado and salsa. I also had part of a roasted acorn squash that I cooked earlier in the week. This was a super yummy breakfast! (I also had a banana that I didn’t snap a picture of. Obviously bananas are great with any breakfast.)

IMG_4509

Last night for dinner I was really excited to have some spaghetti squash casserole, but as the spaghetti squash was cooking in the oven I realized I was missing two of the ingredients. 😦 I was about to run to the grocery store to get them, but Ryan said he didn’t want me to leave and we could just eat what we had. So he had a frozen pizza, and I had these two pieces of leftover veggie pizza that I had on our way home Sunday. I paired it with some broccoli, squash, and butternut squash for some added nutrients. I was kind of bummed that we didn’t have the spaghetti squash casserole, and I knew this wasn’t really a healthy meal, but it was nice to have dinner already made so that I didn’t have to do much. And even if it wasn’t healthy, it was really tasty too. 🙂

This past weekend I had a ton of good food with my family, but I’ll share more about that tomorrow. 🙂

I hope everyone is having a great week!

Questions:
1. Favorite salmon recipe? 

2. Do you like to eat vegetables with your breakfast? If so, what kind?

3. Veggie pizza lover, yes or no?

4. Tell me something good about your week or workouts! 

9 comments

Leave a Reply

