Trying to Improve on this Blogging Thing

So I started this blog back in January, but I look back at some of my old posts and I don’t really like them. I wasn’t showing  my true personality, and I just really wasn’t sure what all I wanted to blog about yet. I also didn’t tell many people about my blog because I was kind of self conscious about it. I never really thought anyone would want to read my blog. Then I started commenting on other blogs, and all of a sudden a few people would comment on mine too. These comments made me so excited, and seeing comments on my posts still gets me excited!

I also have had a difficult time finding consistency with my blog. Life just gets so busy, and it was hard to prioritize my blog with all of the other things I had going on in my life. I basically didn’t blog at all this summer, and when I came back I just blogged every once in a while.

I am happy to say that I have gotten a little better, and have almost blogged two weeks consecutively every day! I know this isn’t that big of a deal, but to me it’s a big accomplishment! I love blogging, and I love all of you I have met through blogging. I really want to keep up this consistency.

Now I am obviously no professional blogger. I still have so much to learn, and I really want to work on the look of my blog. I also have several widgets I want to add, but I”m not sure exactly how. I am not very good with technology, so trying to learn how to improve my blog isn ‘t easy for me.

So this is where I want your suggestions. What are some good widgets to add to my blog? I want to add one that sends emails to people who have commented on a post after I reply back to them. But again, not sure how to do that. I would love to personalize my look some more, but not sure the best way to do that.

Did most of you hire someone to design your blog, or did you do it yourself? I would like to try to do it myself because I don’t really want to pay someone right now to do it.

Now, I know this is a short, and kind of boring post since I don’t even have pictures, but I would really appreciate any blog tips or suggestions you might have! I still have so much to learn, and I love getting tips from other bloggers!

8 comments

  1. I feel exactly the same way! I just started blogging last week and am NOT tech savvy! There is so much about the blogging world that I don’t understand. I too want to make a lot of changes to my blog but just don’t know how. I can’t wait to hear the feedback you get!

  2. Love that you are reaching out, Becky. I can relate to you on so many levels. Hopefully I can shed some light on your questions.

    First off, the plugin you want for the comments thing is called Comment Reply Notification. It does everything for you & you never have to do anything!

    As far as design, this post might help you a bit: http://freeingimperfections.com/how-i-rebranded-my-blog/

    I partly designed my blog myself, but that’s because I had the time and the means. You can buy a layout for not too much though. I think custom blog design is way too expensive. I would highly recommend layouts from http://prettydarncute.com/ or StudioPress. I know it stinks to think about spending money on your blog right now probably, but when your blogs looks like how you want it to, you will want to be on your blog more and write for it more. Trust me! It’s a big motivator to have the layout how you want it. At least it was for me.

    I hope that helps you. And trust me, two weeks of blogging is still a huge accompishment for me. It’s all about balance. I’m so glad you are still blogging, Becky. You can keep growing!

    1. Thank you so much Melissa! Your posts about blogging always help me so much, and your words of encouragement mean so much to me! I am so thankful for the wonderful people I have met through blogging!

Leave a Reply

