Meatless Monday #1

So we are trying something new in our household. We are now taking part in Meatless Mondays! Well close to meatless; we aren’t going to have any meat besides fish on Mondays. We watched a Dr. Oz last week that explained how good it is for your heart to go without meat for one day and replace that meat with fish. So we are giving it a try! 🙂

This is pretty easy for me because I am not a huge meat lover anyways, and I LOVE fish! Ryan, on the other hand, is totally opposite. He loves meat and does not like fish. But, this was actually HIS decision for us to go one day without meat and substitute fish. When he suggested it I was obviously all for it!

So I thought I would share what meatless/fish meals we eat so if anyone else would like to do this too they can have some meal ideas! I will always give my honest opinion, and Ryan’s honest opinion. (Prepare for different opinions sometimes 😉 )

Last night we had fish tacos made with tilapia, and I absolutely loved them!

IMG_4401

I sauteed a whole bell pepper and half of an onion first in olive oil, and then put the seasoned tilapia filets in the pan with the peppers and onions.

I used this recipe as a guide for my tilapia. I seasoned the tilapia with the seven seasonings from paprika down to pepper (I used black pepper, not red pepper). After the tilapia was seasoned I put it in the pan and let it cook for a few minutes on each side. It doesn’t take long to cook so watch it carefully.

After the fish was cooked I put it in two corn tortillas with onion and bell pepper, and topped it with a fourth of an avocado, and some tomato. (I put so many toppings on my tacos you can hardly see the fish, sorry!)

IMG_4402

I had some brussels sprouts, broccoli, and squash on the side, and to me this meal was perfect! I can’t wait to have some leftover tilapia and onions and peppers on a salad for lunch tomorrow!

Okay, now for Ryan’s opinion. He had one fish taco in a whole wheat tortilla with some onions, peppers, and avocado in it, but he wasn’t a big fan of the meal. It was too fishy for him, but he did say when he put a lot of salsa in his tortilla then it was fine, but it was only because he couldn’t taste the fish then. 🙂 He had a great attitude though, and I am very thankful for his willingness to try new things!

So there was our first “meatless” Monday! I am thinking about making a shrimp pasta next week.

I hope everyone had a great Monday!

Questions:

1. Have you ever taken part in Meatless Monday? 

2. Any good meatless recipes or fish recipes I should try? Preferably ones that are man approved 😉

3. Are you a meat lover like Ryan or not so much like me? Don’t get me wrong, I love meat, but it doesn’t kill me to go without it.

11 comments

  1. I’m doing Meatless Monday also, but for me it’s more like vegetarian Monday because I don’t eat fish either. It has been…a challenge, because I really do like meat (mostly Chicken) so I have trouble finding dishes that are filling enough, which makes me want to cheat. But doing what you’re doing and actually planning the meal really has helped a lot. Plus it has encouraged me to eat new foods, especially veggies, so I think it’s a win-win!

  2. I’m a vegan so I participate in Meatless Monday every week, haha! My fiancee is a meat eater though so getting him to do meals sans meat can be tricky. One of his favourite meatless meals is chili. I pack it full of veggies and use the vegan ‘ground meat’ and he can’t even tell there is no meat in it! Pair it with a crusty baguette and you are good to go!

  3. I’m not a big red meat eater, it tastes good but I’d usually prefer seafood or white meat. Favorite seafoods would have to be shrimp, salmon, crabs, and scallops. Your first meatless Monday sounds like a success 🙂

Leave a Reply

