Birthdays Are Too Fun To Only Celebrate Once

I hope you can all agree with me that birthdays are just too fun to only celebrate one day a year. That is why today we are having birthday celebration number 3 for Ryan! My parents, brother, and sister-in-law are all coming over tonight for dinner and Ryan’s birthday since none of them could see him on his actual birthday. I love that we are all so close we can have get togethers like this on the weekends!

Billups wedding 7461

So today, I am going to be cleaning up a little bitΒ a lot around the house before everyone comes over, and I need to go to the grocery store speedy quick so I can start cooking dinner. I am making lasagna, (my aunt’s recipe, aka, the best lasagna EVER), so I need to get started making the sauce as soon as I can, because the longer it can cook, the better! Then for dessert we are having brownies and ice cream! This was Ryan’s meal request. πŸ™‚ He obviously has amazing taste buds.

It’s going to be a short post since I have quite a bit to do, but I want to leave y’all with a few things going on in my life/what I have been eating that tastes absolutely fabulous.

IMG_4357

I didn’t go to my elementary school to teach yesterday because I had seminar, so my friend and I that carpool together bought our caps and gowns for graduation! I can’t believe I am just a little over a month away from being a college graduate! πŸ™‚

IMG_4342

I went on a walk the other day by myself and I loved listening to Michael Buble Christmas music. You might say it’s too early, but I say, Tis The Season! πŸ˜‰ Oh and if you haven’t ever heard Michael Buble’s Christmas cd, go buy it and listen to it now. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

IMG_4353

We finally got to use our food processor from our wedding for the first time! We had been having major problems with it, and we had already returned two food processors. I guess the third time’s a charm! Oh, and by the way, I love it! I made some mashed cauliflower to try to make healthy “mashed potatoes”, but they weren’t that great. Not good, but not that great. Anyone have any good recipes for mashed cauliflower?

IMG_4355

I woke up yesterday morning freezing, and this bowl of hot oatmeal was exactly what I wanted. It has half of a banana in it, some frozen strawberries that I microwaved, and peanut butter. This might look like a big bowl of mess, but I promise it was a big bowl of deliciousness.

IMG_4360

Yesterday, Ryan and I took our dogs on another walk, and I was pretty excited to pull out my Under Armour running tights for the first time this season.

IMG_4361

Last night I cooked us taco meat, and instead of putting mine in a tortilla I loaded up a sweet potato with the meat, onions, bell pepper, tomato, spinach, avocado, and hot sauce. This was seriously so good. The mixture of flavor from the sweet potato and then the spicy taco meat was perfect. I highly recommend trying this. I know you can’t even tell what it is I’m eating on my plate, but that’s because before I took the picture I had already tore into my sweet potato and mixed everything all together. I was hungry, and I just couldn’t wait to dig in. πŸ˜‰ I also had some baked broccoli and zucchini on the side.

IMG_4363

This was my breakfast this morning and it was perfect. It was inspired by paleomg’s easy delicious breakfast hash, which by the way is amazing. For this breakfast though I just cooked two pieces of natural bacon and then sauteed onions, bell peppers, some of a poblano pepper, tomato, spinach, and some already cook quinoa, and then cooked two over easy eggs in with it all. When it was done I topped it with avocado, and guys, just trust me, this was a darn good breakfast! After I took the picture I topped it with hot sauce, and I highly recommend doing that. I might share my exact recipe later. Would anyone be interested in that?

Anyways, I better go. I have a busy day! I hope everyone has a great weekend!

Questions:

1. What are your plans this weekend?

2. Do you like to celebrate a birthday for a long time or just one day?

3. Are you listening to Christmas music yet?Β 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

