Wait…You Mean You Can Actually Make the Recipes You Pin?

I am so happy and proud to say that this week I made FOUR new recipes!! I love pinterest, and I pin new recipes all of the time, but I don’t always get around to making these delicious looking meals. Well last Saturday when I was meal planning I decided it was time to try some new ones. I also have been reducing my gluten ever since back in May I discovered that my body didn’t react the best to too much gluten. So I tried some paleo recipes from paleomg.comย and my husband and I both loved them all! I loved just having real food that was full of nutrition. Here are some of my meals.

IMG_4257

Monday I had thisย sweet chili glazed salmonย with quinoa and avocado and some roasted brocolli, mushrooms, squash, and butternut squash. (I ate these roasted vegetables all week and never got tired of them.) This salmon honestly wasn’t my favorite salmon recipe ever, but it was still good. If you have any awesome salmon recipes, please share. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_4259Tuesday we had crockpot sweet potato basil soup from paleomg and OMG it was so good! I added some shredded chicken breasts and it was perfect! Obviously I needed more roasted vegetables with this meal.

IMG_4262

Wednesday was another winner! Easy delicious breakfast hashย from paleomg again. In this picture you can’t really tell how amazing it was or looked, so just trust me. It was amazing, and Ryan loved it too! It was so good I ate the rest that we had leftover for breakfast in the morning. Except with my breakfast I topped it off with avocado and hot sauce.

IMG_4264

Because I had so much avocado and salsa on top, you can’t really see the breakfast hash and eggs, but I promise it’s there. (Just in case you were wondering, I didn’t have leftover eggs, that would be gross. I made the eggs fresh and heated up the leftover sweet potato sausage hash.) I also enjoyed some acorn squash with cinnamon, and then a banana that I didn’t take a picture of. I was hungry. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_4273

So you can’t tell at all in this picture, but on that big pile of spinach leaves and vegetables is a grilled pineapple burger from, you guessed it, paleomg.com. I was most excited about the spicy avocado cream this recipe included that could be used to put on top of the burger, but unfortunately, I didn’t like it and had to get rid of it after making it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I absolutely hate throwing away food because it is so wasteful, and I especially hate throwing away something that was made with avocado because I LOVE avocado, but I could not make myself eat this. It isn’t because it was a bad recipe, I just am not a big lime person, and I still put the lime in since the recipe called for it, which was my mistake. It is okay though because the burger was still delicious! I ate it on a bed of spinach with grilled pineapple and onions, some diced tomato, and 1/4 of an avocado that I had left over. On the side I enjoyed baked sweet potato friesย and of course my leftover roasted veggies that I have ate all week.

heart food

So you probably noticed that most of my meals this week were paleo. In case you are wondering, I am not going paleo right now, but I do agree that the healthiest way to eat is giving yourself wholesome, nutritious, natural foods. I have found that most paleo meals meet these requirements, which is why I had so many paleo meals this week. I know that the foods God naturally placed on this Earth are so much better for us than all of the processed foods most people eat today. And, like I mentioned earlier, I have noticed that too much gluten doesn’t go so well with my body (it causes stomach issues), so I am trying to cut out the majority of gluten in my diet. I know I don’t do this completely because that is a major task to make sure everything you eat doesn’t contain gluten, but I am trying to mostly limit it. But then again, Thursday night we had lightened taco pasta.ย I am all about moderation. A little bit of gluten doesn’t seem to cause major issues for me, so I just make sure I am not eating cereal, sandwiches, and pasta all together in one day, which used to be very common for me. My view on food, nutrition, and a healthy lifestyle is much different than it used to be, but I don’t want to get too much into this right now because I plan on writing a post on this subject soon. So I will just leave it at that for now. ๐Ÿ™‚

eat real food

Anyways, I am very excited for this weekend. Ryan’s birthday is this Monday, so we decided to start celebrating this weekend. Tomorrow night we are going out to eat and staying the night in a hotel for a fun date night! I love nights out with my man! ๐Ÿ™‚ He still won’t get to open his presents until Monday though, so we will still be celebrating on his actual birthday. ๐Ÿ™‚

Questions:

1. What do you think about the paleo diet? Does gluten affect your body negatively?

2. Any good salmon recipes I should try?

3. What are your weekend plans?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

