Weekly Meal Plan and Pumpkin Protein Pancakes!

Yay for Sunday! My favorite day of the week! I think Sundays are perfect because I let myself relax on this day, I usually don’t wake up to an alarm, I go to church, enjoy family time, good food, and just relaxing. Sounds like a good way to start off a week to me! πŸ™‚

So if you follow me on Instagram you have seen that my poor husband hurt his ankle pretty badly on Friday morning. He went to play basketball with some guys at 6:00 am, and in the last 15 minutes of playing he came down wrong on someone else’s ankle. 😦 Now his poor ankle looks like this.

IMG_4207

I should have taken another picture of his hurt foot next to his other one so you could tell just how bad it really is, but just trust me, his ankle is more of a cankle right now. 😦 Luckily he didn’t have work this friday (he is off every other Friday at his new job), so he was able to rest it all day. On my way home from school I picked up a milkshake to make him feel better. Even though Ryan was hurt, we still had our date night with homemade pizza and a movie in our living room. Those are the best date nights. πŸ™‚

IMG_4205

This pizza is delicious, and I will be sharing how I made it soon. πŸ™‚ Oh, and if you notice, the green and red vegetables are only on half of the pizza. Guess whose half has vegetables and whose half does not? πŸ˜‰

Yesterday our sweet friends, Bryan and Ruth, came over and just sat with us in our living room all day talking since we couldn’t do much else with Ryan’s injury. Ruth and I went out about lunch time to grab us all something to eat at Chick-Fil-A, and then we played cards for the rest of the afternoon. We had a blast, and it was such a great reminder of how we have been blessed with such awesome friends!

IMG_4210

Sorry, this was the only picture I got with our friends from yesterday. But all of their hands are included in the picture so it’s better than nothing right? πŸ˜‰

For dinner I enjoyed a little left over spaghetti (made with spaghetti squash) and a small bowl of leftover butternut squash soup. Everyone eats these two foods together right?

IMG_4211

Please notice I am eating the rest of the spaghetti out of the tupperware I was keeping it in. Using tupperware means one less dish to clean. πŸ™‚

So now that everyone is caught up on my weekend, which I know you all care deeply about, let’s get to this week’s meal plan.Β 

Sunday:Β Whatever we can find, maybe leftovers, maybe breakfast for dinner. We will figure it out πŸ™‚

Monday: Avocado Chicken Parmesan and vegetables(we just had this two weeks ago, but Ryan loves it and requested it again)

Tuesday:Β Chilli (even in Texas our mornings and nights are getting cold so this meal sounds perfect!)

Wednesday:Β Meal at the church

Thursday: Sweet chili glazed salmon with vegetables (and I will have some chicken in case Ryan doesn’t like the fish)

Friday:Β Still not completely sure, but I’m thinking maybe fajitas.

I haven’t had a chance to go grocery shopping this week so I will probably try to get out at some point this afternoon. I don’t like leaving my grocery shopping until Sunday, but sometimes it just happens.

Last Week’s Workouts

Monday: Danica’s full body x2 strength workout fromΒ itsprogression

Tuesday: 5 mile run

Wednesday: Jumping jacks circuit workoutΒ from pbfingers

Thursday: 6 mile run, plank

Friday: really wanted to work one out, but couldn’t fit one in. I know the extra rest was good for my body.

Saturday: A new full body workout that I made up and will be sharing tomorrow, plus a two mile run.

It was a good week of workouts and now I am enjoying my day of rest. πŸ™‚

But before I go get ready for church I want to share with you the recipe for the pumpkin protein pancakes I made this morning!

IMG_4221

I would say these are perfect for a Fall Sunday morning, but in all honesty they are good enough for any morning in any season. But, especially good in the fall…on a Sunday morning. πŸ™‚

I like these because unlike many protein pancakes, it doesn’t require any protein powder, which I am currently out of right now. Plus, protein powder can be pretty expensive, so if you don’t have any it’s not a problem! Here is what you will need:

  • 1 banana
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Now just follow these easy steps and you have a nutritious, filling, delicious breakfast!

1. Mix half of the banana with the eggs, yogurt, oats, and pumpkin. Stir and combine well.

2. Next add in the baking powder, vanilla, honey, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice.

3. Mix all of this well (I even used a little hand mixer we got at our wedding so that the oats were well blended.)

4. You will want to make sure the oats are fully blended so that you have a type of batter.

IMG_4217

5. Cook them over medium heat

IMG_4218

6. When you are done put them on your plate so you can fix them up the way you like them!

7. Finally, EAT! πŸ™‚

IMG_4219

I highly suggest you make peanut butter frosting (pb2, water, plain Greek yogurt, and a little honey) to put on top of the pancakes, with the other half of the banana that you didn’t use to cook the pancakes. Oh and if you have strawberries, add those too. πŸ™‚

IMG_4220

This meal was so good, and I am ready to have them again! Β Please let me know if you make them and how you like them!

Questions:

1. What are some of the meals you are making this weekend?

2. Have you ever hurt your ankle?

3. Protein pancake lover, yes or no?

4. Favorite topping for your pancakes?Β 

5. What fun thing did you do yesterday? πŸ™‚

8 comments

Leave a Reply

