Pumpkin Cranberry Nut Bars Recipe

So like every good, normal person, I absolutely love pumpkin, and I love this time of year when delicious pumpkin recipes are shared just about everywhere online. I thought it was about time I shared one of my own new recipes that I absolutely LOVE! I have made these for the last three weeks, and I am planning on making more this weekend.

This recipe was inspired by Amy’s cranberry almond bars. I made these bars for a couple of weeks, but then I really wanted some type of pumpkin recipe since I was wanting to feel like I was enjoying fall even though weather here in Texas certainly hasn’t been feeling like it. Besides, we all know pumpkin is good anytime of the year anyways. J

So I changed a few things on the cranberry almond recipe and added some things, and Wa-La, I ended up with a delicious, protein-filled snack!

IMG_4200

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup almonds
  • ¼ cup walnuts (if you prefer other nuts I’m sure others would be great too, these are just the two I have always used for this recipe.)
  • ½ cup plain Greek yogurt plus an extra spoonful (this is an exact measurement right? 😉 )
  • 3 tablespoons of pumpkin
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • a few dashes of pumpkin pie spice
  • ½ cup old-fashioned rolled oats (check this measurement)
  •  2 tablespoons unsweetened dried cranberries, chopped (I think any other dried fruit would be good too!)
IMG_4102

Recipe

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Grind almonds and walnuts in a food processor or a good blender until coarsely  chopped (I use my Ninja blender)
  3. Mix together the Greek yogurt, pumpkin, honey, cinnamon and a few dashes of pumpkin pie spice in a bowl.
  4. Add in the Greek yogurt mix to the food processor or blender and blend until a paste-like mixture is made
  5. Meanwhile, mix the oats and cranberries in a separate bowl.
  6. Mix in the Greek yogurt mixture with the oats and stir until everything is well combined.
  7. Line a 5×7 loaf pan with tin foil and coat with cooking spray
  8. Move mixture to pan and spread out evenly and flatten
  9. Bake in the oven for 18 minutes (edges should be golden brown
  10. Allow to cool and then cut into six bars.
IMG_4030

Enjoy! Make sure to store these bars in the refrigerator!

I have really tried to start making more things at home so that I buy less processed foods. I have been able to make my own protein bars and granola for about a month now, and I am really enjoying it. Sure, it takes some time, but if you take just that little bit of extra time on one day, then you are set for a whole week and maybe more (depending how fast you go through your snacks!) These bars never last me more than a week though. J I also love knowing exactly what is going into the food I eat. I am aware of what food I am putting into my body, and I know there aren’t any ingredients that I have never heard of or don’t know how to pronounce. Yes, life gets busy and sometimes we can’t make our own snacks, but I think it is definitely worth trying your best to do it when you can!

I hope some of you try this recipe and enjoy it as much as I do! If you try it I would love to hear what you think of it!

Questions:

  1. Do you like to make your own homemade snacks?
  2. Favorite homemade protein bar or granola recipe?
  3. What is one thing you want to learn how to make homemade? I want to learn how to make tortillas and salsa! Also cinnamon rolls. J
  4. Pumpkin lover, yes or no?
8 comments

Leave a Reply

