Learning When to Talk and When to Listen

Hi friends! A huge thanks to Heather and Amy for replying to my tweet about how to fix my picture problem. I am still working on it though, so hopefully I get it fixed soon! I absolutely love pictures, and they make blog posts SO MUCH BETTER, so sorry my posts have been pictureless and kinda boring.  😦 A lot of the posts I have been wanting to write about I am writing to post until I am able to put pictures in my posts again. I have a few recipes I want to share and a race I want to do a recap over, but those will just have to be put off for a while now.

So for today I want to share what came on my mind tonight at my women’s bible study I attend on Tuesday nights. The study is called, “When  God’s Spirit Moves”, and I absolutely love it!

I am by far the youngest woman at this bible study. Most of the women are anywhere from their 40s, 50s, 60s, and 70s, so being 21 I kind of stick out there. 🙂 The first week I went into the bible study, I almost left before anyone noticed me because I felt out of place. I am so glad that I stayed because these women have so much wisdom to share, and I learn so much from them! They have poured out Christ’s love on me, and I am so grateful that they have welcomed me with open arms.

We always end the bible study with a group prayer where we all gather around and hold hands. I started crying when the leader of the bible study specifically prayed for me, and that God would protect me from everything life will throw at me. After the prayer, when everyone was leaving, the woman came up to me, hugged me, and told me she would be praying for me all week, that God would give me his shield and protection. She said I was on her heart.

Wow. This is my third week at this bible study, and she already is loving me this much. God has blessed me with these women more than I can describe.

My second grade teacher always told me, “God gave you two ears so that you would listen twice as much as you talk.” 

For a girl who loves to talk, and could talk to just about anyone (I have been told I could talk to a wall), this is something I have really learned as I have gotten older. However, I am especially learning the importance of this statement at this bible study. If I talked all of the ladies’ ears off on Tuesday nights, then I would miss everything all of the other women are saying and teaching me.

“Understand this, my dear brothers and sisters: You must all be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry.” James 1:19 New Living Translation

If I want to learn and become wise, then I have to listen to those who are wiser than me. This means I have to shut my mouth. Yes, people still need to talk. No, I am not going to stop talking, but I know that I have to learn to listen more. I definitely think that I have become a better listener as I have gotten older, but this is something I want to continue to improve on.

I want to constantly be growing in the Lord and gain more knowledge and wisdom about Him, and in order to do this, I know I have to be quiet and listen at times. Then, before I say anything, I need to think before I speak and make sure it is worth saying.

“Too much talk leads to sin. Be sensible and keep your mouth shut.” Proverbs 10:19 New Living Translation

What do you want to improve on in your life? It doesn’t have to be spiritual! It can be about anything!

Are you naturally more of a talker or a listener?

4 comments

  1. I think I listen more than I talk, but sometimes I give advice after listening…and that advice isn’t always welcome! I have had to learn that I can’t control others and sometimes listening is all I can do, and then I need to let them live their lives. I know that’s NOT where you were going with this post but that is what came to mind for me!

Leave a Reply

