Long Runs Prove my Insanity

So today I ran the longest I have ever run before, 16 miles.

No, I am not training for a race right now, but I do really want to run a marathon! I am looking for one that is decently priced; they can get so expensive! But I love challenging myself and running, so I don’t mind going out for a long run just to enjoy it.

Which brings me to my point of this post: Every time I go out for a long run, I am reminded that I am insane, and so is every other runner.

I mean come on, I just ran 16 miles for fun. Do normal people do that? The last two miles of my run today were horrible. My legs were exhausted, and I wanted so badly to stop. But I didn’t. I couldn’t. I had said I would run 16 miles today, so I was going to do everything Β to make sure that happened. And why? I mean I am not training for a race.

My thoughts were everywhere this morning. This is how my thoughts during my run went.

Mile 2: Darn it, Becky, you forgot to go to the bathroom before you left. Gross, I hate port o potties (how do you spell that word?)

IMG_4087

Mile 4: Today is perfect. The weather is beautiful, I am running at a gorgeous new location I don’t normally run at, I feel energized, and there are so many other runners/bikers/walkers that are enjoying the trail with me.

IMG_4094

Mile 9: I only have 7 more miles to go, and I am already at my car! I will go about 3.5 miles out, and then run back so I will finish right at my car at 16 miles. That doesn’t sound too bad.

Mile 11: Wait, I still have to run another mile and a half before I can turn around to head back to my car?

Mile 11.4: I am REALLY tired

Mile 11.5: I have two more energy chews (I had two at mile 7.5) and turn back around to head to my car

Mile 14: I am at my car, but I tell myself I can run two more miles. I will run a mile out and a mile back to my car

Mile 14.5: I can run half a mile more and then turn around

Mile 14.6: I turn around to run back to my car

Mile 15.3: I make it to my car. I can’t stop now! I said I would run 16 miles, and by golly I will! (Yes, I just typed by golly)

Mile 16: I did it. πŸ™‚ At this point I am extremely happy in my mind, but at the same time I can’t really think about it because my legs are so tired.

IMG_4090

Notice how much slower my last mile was. I was seriously so tired at that point.

IMG_4092

Thank goodness for Procompression socks. πŸ™‚

So why do we runners put ourselves through this? I mean obviously you can see that I did not want to run those last two miles. Why didn’t I just stop at 14 miles when I made it back to my car. Why would I want to push my body so hard.

Because I enjoy it. Running makes me happy. I enjoy a challenge. Life would be boring if we never challenged ourselves and always did what was easy. Running makes me disciplined. Long runs help me clear my mind, and I feel like I learn so much about my body and how far I can push it. It is about making your mind realize that your body is so much stronger than you think.

So really, when you think about it, why wouldn’t you want to challenge yourself and make yourself stronger? Why wouldn’t you want to become more disciplined and become an overall happier person?

So, how I look at it, even if most people think I am insane, I know that runners are actually the people who are in their right minds. πŸ™‚ Well sort of… I guess we are kind of crazy. But it’s a good kind of crazy. πŸ™‚

Oh and by the way, don’t plan to go grocery shopping later in the afternoon after a long run. You won’t feel like it, trust me. But I did anyways.

IMG_4096

I got out my coupons and one of my homemade pumpkin cranberry nut bars and headed out for this week’s groceries! It was worth the trip out though because I got the ingredients to make this pumpkin pie granolaΒ from Hungry Healthy Girl.

IMG_4098

This stuff is AMAZING! I highly suggest you make it. It makes a ton, but I don’t know how long it will last me because I see myself eating a bunch of this stuff. πŸ™‚

Questions:

1. Do you think runners are insane? Or is it a good kind of crazy like I said?

2. Why do you run or do whatever type of workout you often do?

3. When you go on long runs do you wear a belt or wear a backpack? I need suggestions of what I should get! Today I ran with a Camelback backpack, but it was way too big. But it wasn’t a runner’s backpack either, so I know that would be better.Β 

12 comments

  1. Huge congrats on 16 miles! I definitely think runners are a fantastic kind of crazy–it’s hard to find the determination and motivation that we have, from waking up at the crack of dawn during the summer to fit long runs in before it gets too hot, to running in between life commitments, to flying places to race…runners are most definitely a unique breed. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you! And I totally agree with you! Runners have to have determination, and people who aren’t runners don’t understand why we have that determination. But I guess it is just that runner’s high πŸ™‚

  2. Yayyyyy for 16 miles!! I love running those long distances when I’m not training for anything. The 12+ mile runs without a race in sight are my favorite because you get all the benefits out of it without the stress! Plus, food tastes 10000000x better after πŸ˜‰

    1. Food definitely did taste amazing after my run yesterday! And you are definitely right, I still love running those long distances when I know I don’t “have to” because of an upcoming race.

  3. I’ve never run for that long of a distance, so I admire you. I don’t think you are crazy though. Training our bodies to run like that is AMAZING, and you should be proud of yourself. My friend got a Spibelt for her half and she said it was great!

    Also, I don’t know where you live, but if you use the code “makehistory” today between 9AM and 11PM PST, you get $25 off of the RNR Vegas, Savannah, or San Antonio marathons. I saw it on Twitter. Maybe one of those are of interest to you!

Leave a Reply

