Rest Days and Listening to Your Body

Happy Sunday! I absolutely love Sundays! It is usually full of church, family, friends, good food, and relaxation for me. Although lately Sundays haven’t been as nice because Ryan has to work all day.  😦 But we are both trying to make the best of it, and we know that God has a plan and a purpose.

Yesterday morning I got up and did a 10 mile run and then fueled up with this delicious, veggie and protein filled breakfast!

2013-08-24 08.03.28

I scrambled tomatoes, spinach, onion and bell pepper with two eggs, had two slices of Ezekial bread topped with sugar free grape jelly, and some strawberries and blueberries. I have just started getting Ezekial bread this summer, and I love it! I realize it is more expensive than regular sandwich bread, but when I look at the short ingredient list for this bread and compare it to other normal sandwich breads, I feel like it is well worth the money! Plus, one loaf usually lasts me a while.

I spent the rest of the morning relaxing in my procompression socks, blogging, and eventually enjoying a delicious protein smoothie!

2013-08-24 10.26.59

I was in need for a morning like this. I don’t let myself relax much, so it was nice.

I spent the rest of the day meal planning for the week, grocery shopping, and getting food ready for the week.

Sidenote: I walked in to Walmart and a worker there asked me, “Would you like to enter a raffle? Oh, but you have to be 18; how old are you? Sorry, I can’t tell.” I told him I was 21, but it was okay, it was typical for people to think I was 16 years old. However, on my way home I started thinking, and I wished I would have told him that I wasn’t 18, but I would have my mom come back later to enter. πŸ™‚

Yesterday I also got to make Amy’s Β banana protein muffins that she wrote about on Heather’s blog.

2013-08-24 18.30.27

These were so good! The batch ended up making 14 muffins, so I have plenty for the week! I highly recommend this recipe! The rest of my night was spent eating dinner with the Hubs and enjoying a brownie with ice cream for dessert. πŸ™‚ It was so good I ate it before I could even think about snapping a picture!

This morning was my day to sleep inΒ  sleep as late as my body would let me (6:07 a.m. today) since Sundays are always my rest day. I woke up hungry (typical) and wanted to try something new so I looked for a new recipe on some blogs. I decided to try the spinach protein roll up from Morganne’s blog. I ended up adding a little vanilla and honey to the batter to make it a little sweeter, but it was still good!

spinach protein roll up

I ended up not rolling mine up, but I just left them like pancakes and used the yogurt protein filling as a topping with bananas and blueberries. It made for a perfect Sunday morning breakfast!

Rest Days

Okay, so let’s talk about rest days. Rest days are super important in case you didn’t know. You can’t expect to work your body hard, seven days a week, and expect it to never get tired. This is something I have had to learn over time. I hate not doing anything, so I always like to be busy and active. I feel lazy if I don’t work out one day, but I have finally learned that it is good to let your body rest. As much as I wish my body was indestructible, it isn’t. This means I have to care for it if I want to keep being active for the rest of my life.

It is necessary to have at leastΒ one rest day a week. It is certainly okay, and I think best, to still have active rest days where maybe you do some light yoga, go for a walk, or play a sport with family or friends. But don’t go all out with a workout like you would the other days of the week. I say at least one rest day a week because we are all different and some people might need more than that. The important thing is to listen to your body.

This past Thursday I had no energy in my workout. I planned to go for a 7 mile run, but ended up only running 6 miles. I had no energy, and my time was much slower than it had been. I didn’t know what was wrong. When I told Ryan he simply said, “It’s because you’re exhausted.” And I knew he was right. That morning I woke up more tired than I had been in a long time. Because of this I took Friday as an unexpected rest day. I knew my body needed this, and if I wanted to have a good long run on Saturday morning, I knew I had to regain my energy. Needless to say, I felt great running yesterday and totally energized!

rest day

Some of you might be saying, well my body never tells me I want to work out, so does that mean I should never work out? No. If you aren’t used to working out, most likely you won’t want to. I have finally learned how to tell if my body is actually telling me I need to rest for a day, or if I am just being lazy and don’t want to get out of bed. I wake up about 5:00 every morning to work out, and if I wake up thinking, “Man, I do not want to go work out today. I just want to lay in bed a little longer.” I know that my body is fine to work out, I am just still trying to wake up. However, if I wake up and I really want to work out, however, I just feel so exhausted and out of energy, then I know I need to let my body rest. The difference in these two situations is that in the last circumstance I still want to work out, but am lacking the energy. In the first situation I am lacking the motivation. Big difference.

So learn to listen to your body and take care of it. Work out hard, challenge yourself, and make positive changes in your life. But in order to do this you have to give your body time to rest rejuvenate.

Questions:

1. What do you normally do on Sundays?

2. Is it hard for you to take rest days?

3. What do you like to do for an active rest day? I enjoy yoga, stretching, tennis, or going on walks.

8 comments

  1. I already said this when I replied to your comment on my post but I think it’s really great that you’re able to figure out when you need a rest day. Sometimes our bodies just need a break! I definitely struggle with them and usually end up doing some sort of “active rest” but this semester my goal is to take 1-2 FULL rest days a week, not active rest. It will be hard but I’m beginning to learn that the only way to stay healthy and injury free is to give our bodies the time they need to recover.

  2. I really needed to hear this today. My body has been sore-er than usual and I’ve just been wiped out. I was supposed to run yesterday but postponed it until today, but it still didn’t happen. I really wanted to get out for a run, but knew I shouldn’t. Now, I do feel a bit better so I can’t say I won’t go running later, but I probably won’t. Sunday’s are my rest days, too. I love having this day to do nothing! Thank you for the reminder, though. I have a hard time not working out everyday!

    P.S. So glad you liked the muffins! If you ever get cookie butter, put some on the top of a muffin.. OMG delicious!

    1. I’m glad I wrote about this since you needed to hear it! I constantly have to remind myself to rest. And I for sure want to get some cookie butter, and I bet it’s amazing on the muffins! I put some peanut butter on them today, and oh my goodness they were SOOOO GOOD!!

  3. Your right, rest can be just as important as hard training! It’s good to rest on Sundays, especially if you had a long run the day before. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts so please keep writing!

  4. COMPLETELY agree about rest days, both about their importance and the hesitance to take them. I had to rest this weekend instead of running because I could feel IT band soreness coming on, and I didn’t want to make it worse. It was hard, and I WANTED to do a long(er) run, but I didn’t, and I think I made the right choice.

    Also, aren’t Amy’s muffins amazing? Love that girl.

    1. It is so encouraging to see how many people agree with me about knowing the need for rest days, but at the same time still struggling to take them. It sounds to me like you made the right decision about not doing a longer run this weekend. I hope your IT band gets better! And oh yes, Amy’s muffins are amazing! I just found her blog, so I obviously have a lot more recipes I need to try! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

