Spaghetti Squash Casserole

Oh man guys, I have a yummy and veggie filled recipe to share with y’all! But first things first, let’s get to this morning’s workout.

I have been running (combined with strength workouts) all week and tomorrow is my long run for the week, so I decided to do strength with a bike ride today. I completed this arm workout, and I felt the burn!

Amazing Arms!

  • 15 push-upsΒ 
  • 12 bicep curls into shoulder press
  • 12 tricep extension
  • 12 arm raises
  • 12 hammer curls
  • 15 dips
  • 12 rows
  • 12 wide arm flys
  • 15 diamond pushups
  • 30 second punches

I completed three sets of all of the exercises, and did them as a superset, meaning I would do three sets of the first two exercises and then move on to the next two and so on.

Also, to all of my blogging friends who are so much better at this whole blogging thing than me, how do you make a cute picture or something for your workouts? I know I always just post mine in bullets which is SO BORING and not cute at all. This girl could use some help. πŸ™‚

After I did this arm circuit I went out for a six mile bike ride, which was glorious! The weather was perfect, and it put me in such a good mood!

Breakfast

After my workout I was ready to refuel. Eggs and veggies sounded delicious, but I scrambled eggs with vegetables yesterday so I decided two eggs over easy on top of a bed with spinach, bell pepper, onion, tomato, and avocado sounded amazing

IMG_3768

I love making this because once I break the egg up the yolk spreads out over everything and becomes my dressing!

IMG_3769

This is seriously so good! I actually have this same meal a lot for lunch or dinner too. That’s why I love eggs; they are so versatile. πŸ™‚

Afterwards I wanted some fruit and some peanut butter, so a banana with some natural peanut butter hit the spot!

IMG_3770

Dinner

Okay, now onto dinner. So in case you don’t know, my amazing husband hasn’t always been a veggie lover. I am trying to find new vegetables that he will eat and enjoy because I love him so I obviously care about his health. Last night’s dinner was a huge success in finding some vegetables that he liked, so I was super excited!

For the spaghetti squash casserole I first cut the huge spaghetti squash in half (try not to cut off any fingers or body parts, cutting those things are hard!) and take out all of the seeds. Well, when I say “take out all of the seeds”, I mean try to take out as many as you can. It never fails that every time I cook a spaghetti squash I always find a few seeds I missed after I cook it.

2013-05-29 17.18.10 2013-05-29 17.41.58

After you have cut the spaghetti squash, put it on a cookie sheet with the cut side facing up. Drizzle some olive oil on the inside and then season it with salt and pepper. I also used some garlic powder. Feel free to use whatever seasonings you like. FYI, I have actually read that you can cook it with the cut side down or up, and I have done it both ways, but last night I put the cut side facing up. Then bake it at 375 for about 45 minutes. When it is done let it cool, and once you can handle it use a fork to get all of the “spaghetti strands” out of it.

2013-05-29 18.25.24

It yields a lot of spaghetti, trust me! This is how much I ended up with last night.

IMG_3757

I put it all in a huge mixing bowl, so it really is more than it looks like in this picture. (Also, I forgot to take pictures last night until this most recent ones, so the first ones of me cutting the squash are from earlier in the summer at my parent’s house πŸ™‚ )

Next mix in two cups of cooked chicken, one shredded zucchini, and about half a bag of frozen spinach. I only used half of the bag of spinach because I had a big family sized bag. Finally, don’t forget (like I did at first) to add in your favorite jar of marinara sauce! Sorry I forgot to take a picture of everything once I mixed it together!

Once you mix all of this yummy goodness together put it in an 8×8 pan and top it with mozzarella cheese. Finally bake the casserole at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for about 30 minutes.

Once it’s done let it cool, cut, and enjoy!

IMG_3761

I was so hungry when it got out of the oven, and it smelled and looked so good that I forgot to take a picture until I had already served Ryan and I some.

IMG_3758

I enjoyed a pretty big serving, with a spinach salad on the side.

This seriously tasted so good, and it is extremely healthy since it is filled with nothing but vegetables, chicken, marinara sauce, and a little mozzarella cheese. That’s my kind of meal! And ladies, the best part is, this meal was husband approved! He liked it so much he is even letting me pack it for his lunch today! (Yes, I pack my husband’s lunch every day. It is healthier and much cheaper than him eating out!)

Now I will not try to claim this masterpiece as my own! The only thing I added was the chicken for extra protein. I found this recipe on Pinterest, which led me to the blog, twobrokegals. But I am super sad because I can’t find the link on Pinterest or their blog! If this is your original recipe, please let me know and I will put in your link! πŸ™‚

But just so you know here are the ingredients you will need:

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 2 cups cooked chicken
  • 1 zucchini (shredded)
  • 1 bag of frozen spinach
  • Jar of favorite marinara sauce
  • Mozzarella cheese for topping

There you go! An easy recipe with not too many ingredients! That’s exactly what I like! If any of you try it please let me know what you think! πŸ™‚

Questions:

What is your favorite veggie filled meal?

Does your man like vegetables? If not, have you found a certain healthy meal he really enjoys?Β 

Do you like to eat vegetables with your eggs too in the morning? πŸ™‚

11 comments

  1. My fiance (he’ll be my husband on Saturday!! Whoa…) also is not a huge fan of vegetables, so I know I will be looking for ways to get him to eat more of them! This looks like a great recipe, I will definitely have to try it out!

    1. I love spaghetti squash too, and this was my first time making something other than spaghetti with it. It has definitely made me want to try lots of other recipes with the vegetable too!

    1. Okay I will thanks! I have tried to work with Picmonkey a little bit, but I am just not very good at it. I guess like all things it just takes practice. πŸ™‚ Do you pay to have the better version or do you use the free version?

Leave a Reply

