Speed and Strength Workout

Happy Friday everyone! This week has just flown by, and I know next week is going to go by even faster as I finish up last minute wedding things. ๐Ÿ™‚

TGIF

This picture made me smile. ๐Ÿ™‚

I realized yesterday that I haven’t shared a workout on the blog in a while, and yesterday I had a pretty good one so I wanted to share.

A couple of months ago, during the Forever Fitness Challengeย I said I wanted to work on my speed training more. I have not done this every week like I first tried to do, but I have done it more than usual! I have to remind myself to take it one step at a time, so just the fact that I am doing speed workouts is good since I hadn’t done any since high school.

Yesterday I went to the track and combined some sprints with some strength workouts using my awesome resistance bands Ryan gave me for my birthday!

2013-05-12 10.05.24

I did a total of twelve 100 meter sprints and 3 sets of these exercises.

  • 20 jumping lunges
  • 12 bicep curls
  • 15 squats
  • 12 tricep extensions
  • 10 jump squats
  • 12 wide flys
  • 15 push-ups
  • 10 shoulder press

I broke this down to do four 100 meter sprints followed by one set of these exercises until I completed twelve 100 meter sprints and 3 sets of the exercises.

Do whatever amount of weight is best for you, and feel free to do more or less reps.

This workout was really challenging, and the last four sprints were much harder than the first four! By the end my muscles were tired, but I loved it! It was a beautiful outside, and surprisingly Texas hasn’t gotten too hot yet, so it was a perfect morning for a workout!

Am I the only one who while I am sprinting, I feel like I am running as fast as these girls.

olympic sprinters

But then after I sprint, I look at the time on my watch and realize I was actually running at about the same pace as this girl.

fat girl running

I am not fast in the least bit, but that’s okay. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ladder Sprint and Strength Workout

Now I have been gone from the blogging world for so long, I feel like I owe everyone reading at least two workouts in this post. ๐Ÿ™‚ On Mother’s Dayย I did a different speed and strength workout at the track that I also really liked and planned on sharing with y’all several weeks ago, but I never got the chance. I did a ladder workout for the sprints and focused on arms for the strength portion.

I started out with this set:

  • Bicep curls
  • Shoulder press
  • Tricep kickbacks
  • Wide flys
  • Tricep extensions
  • Back flys
  • Push-ups
  • Dips
  • Diamond Push-ups

After this I completed the following sprints:

  • 100 meters
  • 200 meters
  • 400 meters
  • 800 meters

I did a set of the arm exercises followed by the sprints in order from shortest to longest, another set of arms, the ladder again from longest distance to shortest, and then a third set of arms. I finished with a 1:30 plank.

For the first set of arms I did 12 reps of each exercise, but for the second and third set I did 10 reps. Feel free to do however many reps is best for your body. I used resistance bands for all of the exercises that required weight. Again, make sure you do the amount of weight that is appropriate for you.ย 

I remember after this workout my arms felt like jello, which is obviously a good thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

2013-05-12 08.03.05

I actually hate track workouts (because I always feel so slow), but I though this made a great picture. ๐Ÿ™‚

Questions:

Do you ever do track workouts?ย 

Would you rather do sprints or long distance? I would much rather do long distance, but I know sprints are good for me too and will make me faster.ย 

Do you have resistance bands or ever use them? I highly recommend getting them! You can get all different weights, and they are so easy to transport for traveling.ย 

6 comments

  1. track workouts are TOUGH!!! I really have to be mentally psyched before I ever step on the track or I will let myself off the hook and not work myself hard enough. I am not a fan of speed work, because it’s HARD……..I’d rather run for miles and miles at a ‘this is moderately uncomfortable’ pace than one lap at a ‘I’m dying’ pace! Good for you to get your speed work in- you are motivating me!!

Leave a Reply

