Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day to all of you wonderful moms out there! Being a mom has to be the most important job out there, as well as one of the most unappreciated jobs. I am definitely blessed with an amazing mom, and I know everyone says this, but my Mom really is the best Mom ever! πŸ™‚Β 

2013-05-12 20.12.07

To tell you a little about my Mom, she is one of the sweetest and selfless people you will ever meet. She has shown me what a Godly mother, wife, and woman looks like. My mom always puts my brother, Dad, and me before herself, and I know that she would do absolutely anything for all of us. Even to this day, I still call my Mom for advice, ask her cooking questions, and I like her to take care of me when I’m sick. No matter how old I get, she will always be my Mom, and I will always need her. I don’t know what I would do without her, and I don’t know what our family would do without her.Β 

I decided to give my Mom a kind of homemade gift this year. I got this idea from Pinterest, and I madeΒ a gift like this for Christmas last year. I thought this would be perfect for my Mom!

2013-05-12 14.46.48

You can’t read the pan very well in this picture, but on this pyrex dish I put my Mom’s last name at the top and her initials in bigger letters on the bottom. This was so easy, affordable, and best of all, my Mom loved it! As I was almost done making it I realized I should have been taking pictures for my blog, so this is the only one I got while I was working on it.

working on pyrex dish

All I had left to etch when I took this picture was the last “F” for my Mom’s initials. (And yes, that is my old Coca Cola comforter that is still on my bed at home. I am that cool. πŸ˜‰ )

If you want to do something like this, here is all you need:

  • Whatever piece of glass you want to etch. This is a Pyrex pan, but you can do plates, glasses, vases, or anything else that is glass.

  • Armour Etch Acid

  • Whatever stencil letters or design you want to be on the piece of glass

  • Small paint brush to put the Armour Etch acid onto the glass

    Here is what you do!

  1. First place the letters or whatever other design you want on the piece of glass. I taped my stencil letters on the glass so that it wouldn’t move and mess up.
  2. Then use your paintbrush to paint the Armour Etch acid on your stencils.
  3. Let it sit for at least 10 minutes, and then wash and scrub off the acid. This is permanent so whatever you put on there will stay on there forever, so feel free to wash it in the dishwasher. It won’t mess up! Just a tip, I let mine sit longer than 10 minutes because I was busy getting ready and lost track of time, plus I feel like the longer I let it sit the better it will look. I have no idea if that’s true, that’s just what I think. πŸ™‚

I seriously love this craft! It is a great gift to give people, and it’s not expensive! Plus, I always think when you make a gift it is so much more special!Β 

Mother’s Day Celebration

Today for Mother’s Day almost our whole family came over to our house (from both my Mom’s and Dad’s side). There were so many people, and I loved it! I am blessed with a wonderful family and the times we are all together are so rare, so when it happens I really cherish it. It was also special to spend Mother’s Day with my Mom, both of my grandmothers, and both of my aunts! I have some wonderful ladies to look up to!Β 

2013-05-12 12.58.38

In this picture is my Dad, my grandparents, Ben (brother), Kaleigh (Ben’s fiance), and my Aunt Pam. We all enjoyed some good fellowship!

2013-05-12 12.59.00

This is me with my Aunt Nancy in the middle and my cousin, Mellody, on the left. I love them both so much, and they are both amazing mothers! Mellody has two adorable little boys, and they will be ring bearers in our wedding, along with Ryan’s nephew.Β 

2013-05-12 14.48.02

Here are Mellody’s two boys, Cooper and Cade. They were outside pretty much all afternoon and entertained themselves with this tree. πŸ™‚

2013-05-12 13.30.09

Of course with my family we had a ton of food! All of the food was set on the cabinet and we ate buffet style! We enjoyed chicken and beef fajitas with chips, homemade guacamole, homemade salsa, and refried beans. This is one of my favorite meals my family has. It was so good!

 

2013-05-12 13.30.17

We cooked so much meat. This is all of the chicken and beef that was left over after everyone ate, and there was about 15 people!Β 

2013-05-12 13.11.24

Of course my Mom had to get a picture of my brother and I filling our plates.Β 

2013-05-12 13.12.57

I have some wonderful men in my life! From the left are both of my grandfathers, my uncle, and then my dad. All of the men were gentleman and let all of the ladies go first.

2013-05-12 13.07.45

This was my plate. Just looking at this picture makes me want to eat it all again. I had one chicken fajita and one beef fajita on corn tortillas. I put guacamole, beans, pico de gallo, and onions and peppers on both of my fajitas. I also ate some garden vegetable Wheat Thins with some guacamole, salsa, and bean dip on the side. Yummy!!Β 

2013-05-12 13.37.11

We also had a table full of desserts! I was full after my meal so I didn’t have any, but everyone said it was all delicious!Β 

After eating, we spent the afternoon outside talking and watching the little boys play. Of course we needed a family picture with my parents, brother, and I.Β 

2013-05-12 20.07.09

I sure do love them!

2013-05-12 14.59.29

The girls! From the right is my cousin, Nikki, Mellody, and then Kaleigh. Just getting to talk with everyone was so nice.Β 

2013-05-12 15.24.18

My grandparents (Mammy and Pappy as I call them) are so cute. I had to take this picture with Pappy in my pink desk chair. πŸ™‚

2013-05-12 16.23.43

I love Mammy and Pappy! Sadly, I didn’t get a picture with my other grandparents, MawMaw and PawPaw, before they left, but they were there too.Β 

As you can see from these pictures, I am blessed with a wonderful family that I love very much! I am so thankful for all of these people, but today I am especially thankful for my Mom and grandmothers. If y’all are reading this, I love y’all so much! I hope one day I will be as good of a Mom and wife as you all are.Β 

Also, if anyone noticed that Ryan wasn’t in any of these pictures it was because Ryan left this morning to go on a camping trip with two of his friends. It was kind of like a last time they could all do something together since they will be going their different ways after college. Ryan will be gone until Thursday, and I already miss him like crazy! I will be so ready to see him! He has already sent me pictures of where they are camping and it’s so pretty. I’m a little jealous. πŸ˜‰

Questions:

1. How did you spend your Mother’s Day?

2. Do you like making homemade gifts?

3. What is the latest Pinterest craft you have done?

5 comments

Leave a Reply

