A Long Post With a Little Bit of Everything!

I have had a busy, but fun last three days. I have hated that I have been so absent from blogging lately, it’s just hard to find the time for everything! So here is a little recap of my weekend.

First, Friday some of our Chinese friends made a few of us an authentic Chinese dinner.Β 2013-05-03 19.43.14

They Β made a meal called a “Hot Pot”, which really reminded me of our crock pot meals in America. They had a ton of vegetables and fish that wasn’t cooked, and they put everything on the table with a big pot full of water in the middle. Then everyone put whatever they wanted to eat in the Hot Pot and let it cook for a few minutes. Once it was done you could get out what you wanted and eat it. Here is the food being prepared.

2013-05-03 19.18.16 2013-05-03 19.18.23 2013-05-03 19.23.03

This little sponge looking thing is actually mushrooms and turned into this…

2013-05-03 19.36.57

Pretty crazy, huh?

2013-05-03 19.25.19

I can’t remember what this was, but once it cooked in the hot pot it was so good!

2013-05-03 19.39.33

Here is just a little bit of everything.

2013-05-03 19.39.38 2013-05-03 19.41.36

This above is actually different kinds of fish, there was some crab, and I don’t know what other kind of fish. But it was all delicious as well!

Here is the table once everything was set up on it.Β 2013-05-03 20.01.22

Most of everything on the table had to go into the pot to cook before we ate it. There was some chicken, pork, tofu, seaweed, and scrambled eggs with tomato that didn’t have to go into the hot pot before we could eat it. I seriously loved everything! I love trying new things, and I love oriental food, so a meal like this is perfect for me! Here is what I started out with.

2013-05-03 20.10.20

On my plate are the scrambled eggs with tomato, and in my bowl I enjoyed some seaweed, chicken, pork, and tofu, while all of the other goodies cooked in the hot pot. (There is also a piece of fried tofu in my bowl, but I learned after I already took a bite of it that I wasn’t supposed to eat that until it cooked in the hot pot, so I didn’t eat that one. Oops! πŸ˜‰ )

2013-05-03 20.10.30

Here is my first bowl with a few things from the hot pot. There are some different types of fish in here and mushrooms. It is all covered in some type of peanut butter sauce they made. I don’t know how they did it, but I love peanut butter, and I loved this sauce!

Β 2013-05-03 20.14.51

Now you better believe that I went back for like a million more bowls filled with all different types of food! If I would have taken a picture of every bowl I ate this post would practically never end. Trust me, I ate plenty and was happy and full afterwards. πŸ™‚

2013-05-03 20.47.48

We had such a fun night with great friends and delicious food!

2013-05-03 20.48.06

I had to take a picture with the three amazing cooks! I am so grateful that they came and cooked for us. I might not ever get to experience something like this again. If you are able to become friends with someone from another country I highly recommend it. It is so fun to learn about different cultures! It is also such a good eye opener that we really can all find things we have in common, even if we have totally different traditions and ways of living!

2013-05-03 21.08.39

Saturday

I spent Saturday afternoon at a couple’s shower for our friends Chelsea and Tanner. (I didn’t take any pictures here, total blogger fail 😦 ) Tanner and Chelsea are getting married two weeks before Ryan and I, and I am so happy and excited for them! I am Chelsea’s maid of honor, and Ryan is one of Tanner’s groomsmen, so the wedding will be fun! πŸ™‚

IMG_0805

This is Ryan and I with Chelsea and Tanner last summer at a Texas Rangers baseball game. We always have so much fun together!

The shower was a blast, and we had some yummy food. My favorite was the fruit and pecan pie! I mean, both are healthy right? πŸ˜‰

I spent Sunday wedding planning, going to the lake with friends from church, and ended the day with an ice cream date with Ryan. Pretty good day, huh? πŸ™‚

What I’ve Been Eating LatelyΒ 

Today for breakfast I had some delicious Greek Yogurt pancakes.They were so easy to make and only required 3 ingredients! I got this yummy recipe from pbfingers.com.

2013-05-06 09.25.23

I used Chobani raspberry Greek yogurt for these pancakes and then topped them with half of a banana, one chopped up strawberry, and some sugar free yogurt. So good!!

For lunch I enjoyed a spinach salad with some Herb and Garlic Tuna.Β 2013-05-06 14.26.40

This tuna is so good, and it’s so nice to have on hand when I need a quick, easy source of protein for a meal.

2013-05-06 14.26.47

I topped this salad with some chopped up tomato, onion, bell pepper, 1/4 of an avocado, and some gluten free crackers. Yum! I also enjoyed an apple when I was finished.

For dinner, I had another salad! But taco salad this time. πŸ™‚

Taco salad

I needed to make something quick because Ryan had to go to the library to take a couple of finals, so taco meat sounded easy and fast to make, plus sounded good! I have to admit though, I went the easy way and used a taco seasoning packet. 😦 I want to try to make some taco meat without a seasoning packet sometime, but tonight was not the night. I did buy the reduced sodium package though! πŸ™‚ I topped my salad with meat, guacamole, tomatoes, onions, and bell peppers. I also had Β a few a ton of baked chips and guacamole. That’s definitely my weakness!

Workout

My workout today consisted of about a 6.7 mile run. I was so mad after my run though, because I was doing so good and feeling great, but at about 4.15 miles I had to stop and go to the bathroom. I went back out to finish my run, but I started getting horrible cramps, and after I got to mile 5 I spent the rest of my run doing a slow jog or power walk until I made it back to my apartment. Oh well, I know we all have had days, and for some reason my body wasn’t feeling the best today. My next run will be better!

Questions

Do you like to try new food or international food? Do you think you would have liked what my Chinese friends made me?

Did you run today? How was it?

Would you rather have chips and salsa or chips and guacamole?Β That is such a hard question for me because I love both so much! It honestly probably depends on my mood, but right now I would say guacamole. πŸ™‚

8 comments

  1. That hot pot meal looks delicious!

    When I was in university I was friends with someone from China. She had me over for dinner one time and made won ton soup. It was NOTHING like any won ton soup I’ve ever had. It was so much more delicious.

  2. I’m currently studying abroad and one of the best features of doing so is meeting people from all parts of the world! We try each other’s food, celebrate each other’s holidays.. overall it’s been an amazing experience!

    1. I love that you are studying abroad. That is something I never did, but I know I would have loved! I have been on a couple of international mission trips, and I absolutely loved them both! I wish more people could experience traveling the world.

  3. Oh my gosh, I LOOOVE international food πŸ™‚ I bet all of that Chinese food was amazing!! And I’m loving all of your salads too. After being away from home for 10 days, all I am craving is fresh, healthy vegetables πŸ™‚

    1. I bet you are craving some veggies! I know anytime I am away (and let’s face it, you never eat as healthy as normal when you are away from home), I am always ready for healthy food as soon as I get back!

  4. I have a few Asian friends, and LOVE when they cook. One of them actually has parents who own a Chinese restaurant so we have plenty of food when we are over there. It is so good to have authentic Chinese foods! Your food looks delicious!

    Chips and salsa all the way! Actually, I can just eat the chips. Salty chips and I are best friends and the entire bag could be demolished!

Leave a Reply

