Rainy Day Cardio and Strength Workout

Good morning! I am very happy because I didn’t have school today so I was actually able to get up and workout in the morning instead of at night today! I am naturally a morning person, and I love working out in the mornings, so I have hated that I haven’t been able to this semester. Since I already get up at 5:00 to student teach, I am most definitely not getting up any earlier!

Today is a rainy day though here, so I was forced to stay in the gym. But that was okay because first I decided to go to PiYo this morning. If you have never heard of this class, it is a blend of Pilates and Yoga.

PIYO

So this is definitely not me, I just wanted a picture so I googled PiYo and got this image. πŸ™‚

I have been wanting to incorporate yoga in my workouts, so I decided to start this morning! I absolutely loved this class, and it was a great workout! it was also a challenge and something different, so I really enjoyed it! I definitely need to work on my balance a little more though. πŸ˜‰

After PiYo I wanted to get some cardio in, but I hate spending a lot of time on the treadmill, and Heather over at fitncookies encouraged me with her cardio blast post for this past Trainer Tuesday. I didn’t go exactly by what she did, but I loved her idea of spending ten minutes on each machine and switching things up for those ten minutes to make the time go by faster. I ended up doing this awesome 30 minute Rainy Day Cardio Workout.

This was a really good workout, and because I kept changing things up it went by really fast! I was a sweaty mess at the end, but I felt great!

Rainy Day Cardio Workout

I wanted to also share this strength workout I did yesterday after I taught Six Pack Cycle. I didn’t do it after my cardio today since I did PiYo, but this would be a great addition to the Cardio Workout, and next time I will probably combine the two.

rainy day workout TSR

This was a great strength workout, and my muscles were definitely tired when I finished. I love doing supersets when I do strength workouts because I feel like it goes by faster. Plus splitting them up doesn’t make it seem so tough mentally. That might sound silly, but that is how I like to think of it. πŸ™‚

Okay so I used PicMonkey to make both of these images, but I am really new to using this feature. Any tips from people who use PicMonkey often? I know these pictures are kind of small, but I didn’t know how to make them bigger. I appreciate any tips! πŸ™‚

Questions:

Is it harder for you to workout when there is rainy weather?

I always just seem to want to stay in bed under my covers. πŸ™‚ I made myself get up this morning, definitely worth it!

Do you enjoy doing cardio on machines or would you rather run outside?

I would for sure rather run outside!!

4 comments

    1. If you do the workout let me know what you think!n I love hearing feedback!

      Yes, I am student teaching and getting ready to graduate in December! I am so ready! And teaching fitness classes is my dream job! I absolutely love it; I mean I get paid to work out! So awesome! πŸ™‚

  1. It is way easier for me to run outside but when it comes to doing strength/core workouts I need a gym… I have no motivation to finish a run outside and do a strength workout at my house… I need to work on this!

  2. I’m like you, I have a hard time doing a strength workout at home. I would much rather do it at a gym. Besides, once I finish doing a run outside the last thing I usually want to do is do another workout!

Leave a Reply

