Protein Omelette

So I have realized that most of the recipes on my Recipe page are breakfast recipes, so I really  need to post more dinner meals and other things, but once again, today I have another breakfast recipe to share. What can I say, I love breakfast! Plus, it is the most important meal of the day! 🙂

I had been having oatmeal all week, so this morning I decided I wanted some eggs and veggies. I was also really hungry so I thought some extra protein would fill me up more and keep me full longer. I decided to delicious protein omelette sounded wonderful! For this you will need:

  • Two eggs
  • Spinach leaves
  • Onion
  • About 3-4 sliced of turkey lunch meat (or any other meat you have could really work. Turkey is all I had this morning.)
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • Hot sauce for flavor (optional)

Okay so first I chopped up some onion and spinach leaves. I didn’t measure out how much spinach or onion I used, so I would just suggest using as much as you want. Then I cut up a few slices of turkey meat real small and mixed it in with the veggies.

2013-04-17 08.09.10

Then I sauteed the veggies and meat in one tablespoon of olive oil to let them cook for a few minutes while I cracked and whisked the two eggs.

After the vegetables and meat was cooked I took them out of the pan to pour my eggs in, and then I put the mixture back in with the eggs to let the omelette cook. After a couple of minutes I flipped the eggs and let it cook for a few more minutes on the outside. Luckily, my omelette didn’t fall apart this time, and I ended up with a yummy (and pretty) omelette!

2013-04-17 08.19.18

I ended up pouring some hot sauce over the omelette after I took the picture, and it made it so much better! On the side I also enjoyed one pice of toast with some sugar free jelly, a banana, and a couple of strawberries. This omelette is super healthy and full of protein from the eggs and turkey meat!

Yesterday’s Workout

Yesterday I ran five miles, and I am still trying to get back into running after taking off a couple of weeks from being sick. I ran at a pretty easy pace, but it still felt so good to run! I also wanted to do an arm workout, but I was pressed for time, so after my run I did 30 push-ups and 30 tricep dips. I guess a little bit of arms is better than nothing!

Olympic Speakers

Yesterday was very exciting because Misty May-Treanor, Ryan Lochte (both Olympic gold winners) and ESPN Sportcenter’s Linda Cohn were on my university’s campus! (Sanya Richards-Ross was supposed to be there as well, but with the computers crashing at the airport yesterday, her flight wasn’t able to come in. 😦 )

Last night Misty, Ryan and Linda all spoke in one of our auditoriums and students were welcome to come in and listen. Linda was basically like the host on stage and asked Misty and Ryan questions all about their lives and olympic experiences. Students were even able to tweet in questions for Linda to ask the olympians.

I really enjoyed listening to these three, and it is so cool that I actually got to hear two Olympic Gold Medalists speak! I especially can’t believe they came to our campus! I tried to get a picture, but this was the best I could do with my phone.

2013-04-16 20.39.55

I was sitting pretty far back, so sorry for the super bad quality, but I still think it’s pretty cool!

Ryan was very excited because he helps host a sports radio talk show with two of our friends, and they were able to interview Linda Cohn yesterday! I tweeted Linda Cohn to see how the show went, and she re-tweeted me, which totally made my night!! So of course I had to take a picture. 😉

2013-04-17 11.08.55

I mean, she is like a major lady with ESPN. I thought this was so cool!

I hope everyone has a great Wednesday!

Questions

  1. What did you have for breakfast this morning? 
  2. What is your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
  3. Who is your favorite Olympic athlete?
2 comments

  1. This omelet looks so delicious! I’m the same way- I love putting hot sauce on omelets. Its so good. My favorite sport to watch in the Olympics is probably gymnastics. I loved gabby douglas in the most recent games, but i think dominque moceanu is still my all time favorite:)

Leave a Reply

