Quick Workout and Recap of the Sugar Detox

Hey guys! Sorry I am writing so late tonight; it has been another busy day. I haven’t got to share many workouts lately because I have been sick for about the last week and a half and I haven’t been able to work out as much as normal. I seriously hate this because working out makes me so happy! I am real congested and have a horrible cough. Anytime I start doing any cardio I start coughing horribly loud and can’t seem to stop. Because of this, Sunday and Monday I decided to rest and not workout. I couldn’t take it anymore today and decided to try going up to the gym. I still couldn’t do much, but I managed to get in this quick workout. It doesn’t take too long, so if you need something fast and efficient give it a try!

dumbbell

Warm up:

  • 30 seconds jumping jacks
  • 30 seconds high knees
  • 30 seconds butt kicks

Workout

  • 10 burpees
  • 10 power cleans into overhead press
  • 20 lunches with 10 lb dumbbell in each hand (10 each leg)
  • 10 rows (10 lb dumbbell in each hand)
  • 10 bicep curls (10 lb dumbbell in each hand)
  • 30 second mountain climbers
  • 10 tri-cep extensions (10 lb dumbbell)
  • 30 second spiderman abs

Complete this set a total of 3 times. This workout was really good because it incorporated a little bit of everything, but since I am sick the burpees totally killed me. During the burpees I was coughing nonstop, and I know everyone in the gym was probably like, “get that girl out of here before she kills us all!”

Disgusted-Face

That is the look I felt like people were giving me. Luckily, I am going to the doctor tomorrow so hopefully I will be better soon! The weather is starting to get pretty and I want to run!

Sugar Detox Challenge

So last week I participated in Laura’s Sugar Detox Challenge that she hosted over on her blog mommyrunfast.com. I was tempted a few times, which I write about here, but I really did enjoy it! I do not have much of a sweet tooth so it wasn’t too hard for me to give up sweets, but the hardest part for me was giving up bread, crackers, and protein bars. These aren’t necessarily the worst things for you, but they have processed sugar in them, which isn’t good for you. Being on this challenge really forced me to think about what I was eating more and make more of an effort to plan  out my meals ahead of time.  I normally try to plan out my meals, but I had to focus more this past week.

healthy food

I realized that I normally snack a lot without thinking about it, and this week forced me not to do that as much. For instance, normally when I am cooking a meal, if I am really hungry I might snack on some crackers or something when I am getting my food ready. However, I couldn’t do this when I was on the detox. So if I wanted to snack on something I had to either eat some fruit or raw vegetables. Obviously, this is much better for me since it is natural and contains plenty of nutrients.

To be honest, I didn’t feel any different this week while doing this detox, but I also didn’t feel like I had to change much from my normal diet. I already don’t eat many sugars and try to incorporate fruits, vegetables, and natural foods as much as possible. But the detox did teach me that I don’t have to rely on so much processed foods and that it is possible to eat all natural foods. After all, God gave us everything we needed so I know I should enjoy it!

Food for this Week

I have been super busy all week, and I haven’t been able to go to the grocery store at all. That means I am running out of food and eating whatever I have left. Last night for dinner I actually had to go to the cafeteria at my school…

2013-04-08 19.17.16

This is supposed to be tilapia, cauliflower, rice, and some type of baked carrots. I know, what was I thinking getting tilapia at my school cafeteria? Well, it was the healthiest option I could find. But I have to admit, it wasn’t half bad. I also enjoyed a salad with some guacamole.

2013-04-08 19.18.01

I hardly ever eat at the cafeteria but I was desperate last night. Tonight I didn’t have much to choose from so I decided a veggie egg sandwich would fill me up. This hit the spot! I also enjoyed an apple and a carrot with my sandwich. Hopefully tomorrow I can find some time to go to the store for a few much needed groceries!

Questions

  1. Do people ever look at you funny at the gym?
  2. What is your go to meal when you are running low on groceries?
6 comments

  1. That’s great that you already eat so healthy! It’s nice that the detox revealed some new perspectives for you. Keep up the good work. All that food looks so amazing!

  2. Love the recap and the workout! i definitely go for a bowl of cereal when I am completely out of groceries. Definitely unhealthy but I always just tell myself just this once!

Leave a Reply

