Outdoor Adventure Center

So before I get to the Outdoor Adventure Center I want to write about my breakfast yesterday. I tried the Two Ingredient Pancake from Carrotsncake.com. This pancake is made up of one banana and one egg, except I made it a three ingredient pancake because I added in cinnamon. Here is the egg and banana before I cooked it.

2013-04-05 08.30.39

Next I added in some cinnamon before putting it in the skillet to cook on low-medium heat. Tina gives some good tips on the perfect two ingredient pancake here. My only problem I had while making this was I put too much olive oil in the pan, so when the pancake was done cooking it was really greasy. I dabbed it with a couple of paper towels though.

2013-04-05 08.48.56

Pretty gross huh? But I know for next time that I don’t need to use as much. I think my problem was I put in one tablespoon of olive oil, and then I sprayed some nonstick spray just to be safe, and I think if I hadn’t used the spray the pancake would have been fine. But after I dabbed the excess grease off the pancake was delicious!

2013-04-05 08.54.26

I put some Smucker’s natural peanut butter on it and topped it with a sliced up strawberry! It hit the spot, and was even fine for the Sugar Detox Challenge! I was still a little hungry though when I finished, so I also had some grapes and almonds.

Outdoor Adventure Center

So right after I wrote my last post Ryan and I headed out the the challenge course that our university’s Outdoor Adventure Center has. On the course there are a bunch of high  elements and challenges you can try. Some of them are climbing up a rockwall, but others are things like walking across a cord really high up in the air. Let’s just say I was a baby and was scared the whole time! But Ryan and I still had a lot of fun! This can give you an idea on what the course kind of looked like.

2013-04-05 17.56.312013-04-05 17.56.45 2013-04-05 17.56.49


The first thing Ryan and I did was try to climb up this rock climbing pole. I say pole, because it wasn’t a wide wall you would think of that we would be trying to climb. Ryan went first.

2013-04-05 17.23.12 2013-04-05 17.25.47 2013-04-05 17.26.10

He did awesome and made it to the top really quick!

I was next; let’s just say I didn’t make it to the top quite as quick… or at all 😉

2013-04-05 17.28.41 2013-04-05 17.28.51 2013-04-05 17.29.57

I got about half way up, and I had trouble reaching the next rock and bringing my foot up. I felt uncomfortable and decided I would much rather go down. 🙂

Next we climbed up high to a platform, where from there you had to step down on a thin cord and try to walk across. There were ropes you could hold onto as you walked across the cord, but it was still so scary! The scariest part though was that first step from the platform onto the cord. I stood on the platform for about a good five minutes saying I didn’t want to do it before I finally just leaped onto the cord and grabbed the rope! Ryan was encouraging me the whole time, and kept telling me I would be okay. Even though at first I didn’t want to step on that cord, I am really happy to say that I did! 🙂

2013-04-05 17.41.47 2013-04-05 17.46.09 2013-04-05 17.48.01 2013-04-05 17.48.14-2

Of course Ryan went after me and he did it with absolutely no problem or fear.

2013-04-05 17.51.11

2013-04-05 17.52.13 2013-04-05 17.52.50 2013-04-05 17.52.57 2013-04-05 17.53.06

Is he not the most handsome guy ever in a helmet? 🙂 But I was super proud of him! Ryan and I had a lot of fun at the course, and it was a beautiful day which made it even better!

2013-04-05 18.03.00

After we did this it was time for us to leave so we could go get Marlee and Wood to go to my parents’ house and address wedding invitations! Our friend, Ruth, also came to help Marlee and I address invitations. Ruth and her husband, Bryan just got married last August, and Ryan and Wood were both groomsmen so we are all good friends!

2012-07-08 19.12.46

In this picture from the left are Tanner, Chelsea (They are getting married in May, and I am Chelsea’s maid of honor!), Ryan, me, Marlee, Ruth, and Bryan. This picture was from Bryan and Ruth’s couple shower last summer. Wood isn’t here because he was a counselor at a Christian youth camp that week.

But I wanted to show y’all that picture so you could know who I was talking about. Anyways, my parents fixed us a delicious dinner to eat before we got to work on invitations. My mom had burgers, chips, and dips, and brownies for everyone, but since I am still doing the Sugar Detox Challenge she had me sauteed chicken, corn, rice, and some beans. I also ate a tone of grapes throughout the night! So once again, I am proud to say I resisted temptation and am still going strong! 🙂

Ryan and I also got excited because we thought we were going to get to open our first wedding gift that came in the mail!

2013-04-05 20.15.54

Unfortunately, this was just a tease because my Mom found out quickly this was for a shower we are having next weekend so we didn’t get to open it. But I am even more excited for next weekend now! 🙂

After this, Marlee, Ruth, and I got to work addressing invitations!

2013-04-06 09.35.16

We got a little over half way through so we made some good progress! These girls are amazing for helping me! They have already saved me so much time; I am so blessed with wonderful friends!

I am getting so excited for the wedding; it is exactly 2 months and 1 day away! Ahhhhh!!! These next two months will be so busy! In the next three weekends I have four showers! 🙂 My first is tonight! Marlee is throwing me a lingerie shower with our friends, and I can’t wait. I know we are going to have a blast!

Before the shower tonight I still need to do a few things, and I’m about to go get in a good run with my friend, Brittany. I hope everyone enjoys their Saturday!

For those of you who are already married, any tips for me in these last couple of months before the wedding? Anything you think I should be doing? Or any tips to keep me from feeling overwhelmed? 

How are you spending your Saturday?

Leave a Reply

