Faith in My Friday

Well, it’s that time of the week again. Time for another Faith in my Friday! A big thanks to Melissa over at freeingimperfections.com for hosting this again!

Sorry I didn’t get a chance to blog yesterday; I was super busy and the day just got away from me. I hated that I wasn’t able to blog, but I reminded myself it was okay because I can’t let my blog overtake my life. I talk about this here.

Last night Ryan and I went to the bible study we have been going to that is studying the book, Radical, by David Platt. We watch a video every week, and in the video we watched last night David was talking about how the gospel commands us as Christians to take care of the poor and orphans. We don’t need to do this because we feel sorry for them; we do this because we are commanded to by God.

Our world is so lost, and it breaks my heart thinking about it. The world has grown so far from God, and I think that we Christians sometimes forget just how serious God is about everything He says in the Bible. The Bible says how hard it is for a rich man to enter Heaven, and that a rich man has received his reward here on Earth in full. I know that I most definitely want to receive my reward in Heaven for eternal life; I don’t want to receive my reward here on Earth when it will only be temporary.

God says that those who do not care for the poor and His children do not know Him and will spend eternity in Hell. That’s serious! The Bible is no joke, and I think our world has started to take what is written in the Word too lightly. We need to cling to every word from the Scriptures and study it so that we can understand what God wants to tell us and show us.

Now, I know having money is not a sin. God blesses people financially! But God does this so that people can use those blessings to further His Kingdom. Most of us in America are rich compared to the world, so we need to be sharing what we have with those who need help. Today, just take some time to thank God for everything He has blessed you with. Ask Him what specifically you can do to further His Kingdom and how you can use the blessings He has given you to honor Him. Who knows what He might reveal to you? 🙂

I have really enjoyed this bible study over Radical, and it is really showing me to study what I read in the bible more carefully and really take it to heart. I have read or heard so many stories in the bible for most of my life that sometimes I forget its importance or seriousness in my life and the lives of everyone. God has let us have His Word, and I know I need to cherish it more than I do.

God continues to amaze me this week as He is helping me finish this stressful semester and get everything done that needs to be done. I fail Him every day, but he continues to have mercy on me. We serve such a mighty God, and it just amazes me!

Sugar Temptations

Okay, so yesterday I was tempted several times to mess up on the Sugar Detox Challenge.I am proud to say though, that I didn’t give in!! 🙂 But I owe this totally to Ryan! He makes me a better person. 🙂

It first started at lunch yesterday. I ate with my Dad at McCalister’s Deli and I got a chicken salad with a bowl of chicken tortilla soup.

2013-04-04 12.13.10

This was healthy and didn’t make me cheat for the challenge, but the hard part was what came with the meal…a free sugar cookie! It was hot and fresh and looked so delicious! But I didn’t eat it, and as soon as I got back to school I gave it to Ryan. He suffered and ate it for me so that I wouldn’t be tempted anymore. 😉

So after that I was really proud of myself, but then dinner came along. Ryan and I had to go see our jeweler because he is working on making my wedding band and had a question to ask us. After we left the jeweler we wanted to grab something to eat before we went to bible study. We went to Grandy’s, which isn’t healthy, but I was able to find a healthy option for dinner. I had grilled chicken with rice, corn, and green beans.

2013-04-04 17.54.43

Again, I felt good about choosing this healthy option, but the problem was it came with two super yummy rolls. Now, I don’t know if any of you have ever been to Grandy’s, but they have scrumptious rolls! This is where Ryan helped me. I picked up the roll, and said, “I’m hungry, I don’t care, I’m eating this!” Ryan reminded me how well I had been doing this week not eating sugar and that if I ate this roll I would regret it later. I (not so happily I might mention) put the roll down and continued to eat my dinner. Once I finished my dinner I thanked Ryan for telling me not to eat the roll. I most definitely would have regretted eating it, and I am so happy that my man helped me. So I can say I am still going strong for the Sugar Detox Challenge! 🙂 And of course, just like with the cookie, Ryan helped me out by eating both of my rolls to prevent the food from tempting me. 🙂 Isn’t he a sweetie? 😉

In case you were wondering what Ryan ate, here it is

2013-04-04 17.54.54

Looks a little different from my plate, huh? 🙂 Also, not pictured is the two rolls of mine that he ate. 🙂

Workout

This morning I had an awesome arm workout that I got from olivetorun.com. This arms of steel workout was really hard and had my arms burning by the end. I did the advanced version, which was this.

  • 30 seconds of jumping jacks
  • 30 seconds of high knees
  • 15 push-ups
  • 25 tricep dips
  • 60 second plank
  • 15 push-ups
  • 40 mountain climbers
  • 15 shoulder press
  • 20 chess press
  • 15 push-ups
  • 25 tricep dips
  • 60 second plank
  • 15 push-ups
  • 25 right tricep kickbacks
  • 25 left tricep kickbacks
  • 30 second jumping jacks
  • 30 second high knees
  • 60 second plank.

I did this one time forward and one time backward. I did the first set of 15 push-ups regular, but after that I did girly push-ups. My arms were burning! And pretty much every time I had to do 25 dips I had to break it up and take rests in order to do all 25. But that’s okay, I’m getting stronger! If you are looking to tone your arms up for this summer, definitely do this! And check out Cori’s blog, olivetorun.com because it is awesome! After I did this strength workout I did 20 minutes on the elliptical for some cardio.

But now I think Ryan and I are about to go to the Outdoor Adventure Course in town because today you can go to the course for free! After that we are heading to see my parents with Marlee and Wood so that Marlee and I can work on addressing some of our wedding invitations with our other friend Ruth. So fun! I hope everyone enjoys their Friday night! 🙂

What have you been reading lately? 

Are you taking part in any type of bible study?

How do you think God wants you to use your blessings to honor Him?

Have you been tempted for the Sugar Detox Challenge?

What workout did you do today?

7 comments

  1. My heart often breaks for those in poverty- lately, the spirit has been nudging me towards Justin Wren’s cause… the former UFC fighter who is buying slaves in Congo in order to free them and give them a fresh start in life with land, supplies, etc. The slaves are seen as the scum of the land- and many are children!

    I know that God probably won’t uproot me to take on such a cause, but he most certainly blesses me with the option to give to it and many others.

    By the way- keep building up your husband with your kind words. 🙂 it’s wonderful to see.

  2. My heart often breaks for those in poverty.Lately I feel the spirit nudging me towards Justin Wren’s cause- he is a former UFC fighter who gave up his career to free Pygmy slaves in Congo. They are seen as the scum of their land- and many are children!

    I know God might never call me to such a poverish community, but he does bless me with the ability and means to give to such causes. I just need to be more open and willing.

    By the way- keep building up your fiance with your kind words, it’s truly wonderful to see. 🙂

  3. I have never heard of that cause, but it sounds great! I definitely agree we need to all be more open and willing to whatever God calls us to.

    And thank you, I try to always support and build up my fiance. 🙂

  4. Love your thoughts! That sounds like a really good book. I agree that a lot of people, even ones who read the Bible daily, don’t take the Bible seriously enough. I know I don’t. We read things and we’re like, yeah, that’s a nice thought, but then go on living our lives as if we didn’t read or understand what the Bible said.

    I’m going to look into reading that one sometime!

    And good for you for not eating the cookie & rolls! Those are definitely my favorite things to eat, so that’d be hard.

  5. Let me know if you read it and enjoy it, Melissa! I would like to read the book sometime soon because right now we are just watching the six week video series, which is over the book. Since I love the video series so much I know I would love the book!

Leave a Reply

