The Best Proposal Ever!!

So I am always talking about wedding planning, and I thought it was about time that I shared the proposal story. Now, I might be biased, but I think Ryan proposed to me in the sweetest, most romantic way possible! I truly am engaged to the most amazing man in the world who is also my best friend. He is a strong Christian man, and I know he is the man who I want to lead me and our future family for the rest of our lives. The way he proposed just shows how thoughtful, creative, and sweet he really is. I honestly could not have ever imagined a more perfect, sweet proposal!

So last August, Ryan and I went to the Smoky Mountains in Tennessee with three of our friends for a little vacation before school started back.

100_2910

100_2939

In this picture from the left are our friends, Ross, Taylor, Ryan, me, and Brittany. Brittany is one of my best friends and is going to be one of my bridesmaids.

We seriously had a blast on this vacation!

100_2955 100_2956

The whole time we were here I knew this was the best vacation ever, but I didn’t know just how good this vacation was going to end up being…

We left late one Sunday night to arrive at the cabin where we were staying Monday afternoon.

100_3011

Wednesday was our last day there and that night, about 9:00 p.m., Ryan asked me if I would want to go on a walk since we hadn’t got to spend anytime by ourselves. Being absolutely crazy about the guy, of course I said yes! So we left our cabin and went out for a walk, but it was pitch black and I was a little scared of what animals might be hiding out there. I even told Ryan at one point maybe it wasn’t safe for us to be outside when it was so late, but he calmly told me he would protect me. So we walked and found a spot to sit, and then we started talking about when we could possibly get engaged. Ryan starts talking about August, making me believe he means August of 2013. I was quick to tell him I thought that was much too late and we needed to get engaged sooner. He ended up saying it might be a little sooner than I expect, but it would for sure not happen at Christmas so I shouldn’t get my hopes up. So at this point, I am pretty positive he will propose sometime in the spring of 2013, I just do not know when.

Eventually we decide to walk back to the cabin because we know our friends are waiting on us so that we can all go out to town. We walk up to our cabin and I tell Ryan, “This isn’t our cabin”. He told me it was, but I said, “Our cabin doesn’t have candles” (quote of the year by me!). He smiled and said “Well maybe I have a little surprise for you”.

He took my hand and started walking me down where the candles were. The cabin we stayed at had a creek underneath it with a little bridge you could walk across to get to the other side. There were candles everywhere, 80 to be exact! The candles led down to the bridge, were on either side of the bridge, and then were all over the side across from the bridge. Holding my hand, Ryan led me across the bridge to the other side and walked me to an area with a blanket on the ground.

100_2959

This picture seriously doesn’t do it justice, but this is the area Ryan led me to. You can’t see it in this picture, but there are candles everywhere!

The most romantic songs ever were also playing in the background. There was some songs by Michael Buble, Jason Mraz, Colbie Caillat, Brad Paisley, and Matthew West. When we got to the area that had a blanket on the ground Ryan handed me a book and told me to read it out loud. It was a book he made himself from Shutterfly. On the cover of the book was a picture of us and it read, “I Love You Because…”. I am already crying at this point, however, I still have no idea he is going to propose. I just think he is being sweet. (In my mind, he had made it very clear on our walk he was not going to propose until the spring.) So I start to read the book and every page has a picture of us with a reason that he loves me. About half way through the book though, it changed from, “I love you because…” to “I knew I wanted to marry you since…” It was at this point that I finally realized he was going to propose and I really started bawling! The last few pages read, “All of these memories and moments have build up our love story until now. But wait… This wouldn’t be a very good love story without a happy ending…Now would it?”

As soon as I read this Ryan got down on one knee. He pulled out a bible and began to read Proverbs 31:10-12 &25-31. He read:
“A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value. She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life…She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come. She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue. She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all. Charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Give her the reward she has earned, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.”
After Ryan finished reading this he told me that I was a Proverbs 31 woman, and he asked if I would be his Proverbs 31 wife. AND OF COURSE I SAID YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

100_2967

Can you tell by this picture how excited I am? πŸ˜‰

By this point I am absolutely crying like a baby; I have lost control of my tears. But I know I have to be the happiest person in the world! He then put the absolutely most gorgeous ring ever on my finger. But in all honesty, I did not even look at the ring for about five minutes. I was too excited to be engaged to this wonderful, Godly man who has totally swept me off of my feet.

We stayed outside for a while and talked; we were both just so excited to be engaged. But we eventually went back inside the cabin where our friends congratulated us and hugged us. Our friends truly were amazing because Ryan had told them exactly how he wanted the candles and music to be set up, and they set everything up perfectly when we were out on our walk.

100_2990 100_2991 100_2980

You can tell how much I had been crying by my eyes in this picture!

After we talked for a few minutes inside and hugged everyone, (I am trying to stop the endless tears of joy from falling down my face), we went outside to try to take some pictures before all of the candles went out.

100_2962 100_2973 100_2965

Okay, this one might be a little staged πŸ˜‰

100_2964

I was happier than ever that night, and Ryan completely surprised me! He proposed in a way that was absolutely perfect for me, and I wouldn’t have changed a thing! Now, you know nothing ever goes as planned. Ryan had actually bought a video camera so he could record the proposal, but when our friends were setting up the candles and music when we were out on our walk, one of them forgot to push the record button. But I never even cared, I was so happy to be engaged to my best friend that nothing could have upset me! I have the memories of Ryan proposing and that’s all I need!

Now this proposal is obviously extremely, romantic and sweet! Even now, I still get all excited and giddy when I think about Ryan proposing. I don’t think I will ever get tired of telling this story. I will always treasure August 15, 2012, the day the love of my life asked me to be his wife. But I have to be honest, the best part was not how he proposed, it was just the fact that he DID PROPOSE! I would have said yes no matter what, and I am so thankful that God has blessed me with such an amazing man! I love to look back and see how God worked in both of us to place us in each other’s lives. I know God has some pretty awesome plans for Ryan and I, and I absolutely can’t wait to be Mrs. Ryan Billups!!!!

14 comments

  1. He read Proverbs 31 in his proposal?!?! OMG He’s a keeper! That is so sweet.

    I thought I had the best proposal ever, but WOW, this is a great story too. I love that you didn’t see it coming at all. That’s how I was too. I knew we would get engaged, but the actualy moment was totally surprising. The candles & the book sound so sweet.

    I also cried like a baby when I got engaged – so glad no one but him was there to see all the tears!

    So happy for you guys!

  2. Thanks Melissa! He definitely is a keeper πŸ™‚ Have you posted your engagement story? I would love to read how your man proposed! I kinda love proposal stories πŸ™‚

  3. What a sweet proposal story! It sounds like your guy spent a lot of time and put a lot of effort into making it special. I love reading proposal stories where it’s clear the guy has invested a lot of thought in not only his choice of ring or how he will propose, but why he is proposing in the first place. It’s clear that your guy loves the Lord and used His guidelines in choosing you, which is really the best seal of approval of all. Congratulations and many happy years together. πŸ™‚

  4. I will say best proposal ever because it reminds me so much of my own! Peter wrote me a letter that is similar and the proposed after I finished reading it (surrounded by candles and all). Sounds like you have a winner of a guy. LOVE the Bible verses he included too. πŸ™‚

  5. Congratulations! This is soooo sweet! I had a little tear in my eye reading this lol I’m such a sucker for this kind of thing lol, bless both your hearts. It looks like you’ve got yourself a wonderful young man. Best of luck for the future, I’m sure you are going to have a wonderful life together πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

