To Do Lists

So I have learned that it will be very easy for me to get stressed out and overwhelmed with everything I have to do this semester. Writing things down and making to-do lists always help me feel better. There’s just some type of satisfaction I get from crossing things off a list after I do it. Everything also seems more doable whenever I can see right in front of me what exactly I need to do. Yesterday was definitely one of those days where I had a list full of things that needed to get done, so I just did one after the other. And after every task I completed, I proudly marked it off my list!

But of course I couldn’t start my busy day without a good breakfast! I woke up starving and a veggie egg sandwich was calling my name. I didn’t have avocado though, so I did without that this time.

IMG_1318

I also enjoyed some sliced strawberries and almond milk.

I spent my morning washing clothes, cleaning the kitchen, and working on school work. My breakfast didn’t stay in me long because I was hungry pretty soon, so I ate some turkey lunchmeat and a banana.

IMG_1319

Like I said, I was hungry all day yesterday so I kinda snacked a lot throughout the day. A little bit before lunch I enjoyed a handful of Wheat Thins.

IMG_1320

For lunch I enjoyed a chicken sandwich that I made with chicken from Tuesday’s crock pot chicken. On the sandwich I put lettuce, tomato, onions, and bell pepper. On the side I enjoyed a nice, crisp apple with some baby carrots.

IMG_1322

Yummy! Like I said before, I absolutely love sandwiches and never get tired of them!

I was craving something sweet after lunch though so I ate this white chocolate covered peanut that my mom sent me from home.

IMG_1323

Salty and sweet, just perfect!

I spent the next few hours working on more school work until I finally headed up to the gym for a good workout.  Today was a weight/circuit day so I decided to make up my own circuit workout that would involve total body strengthening. I wrote my workout down on this notepad I’m pretty sure I have had since I was like 10.

IMG_1324

I don’t think I will ever be too old for this. 🙂

I did three different sets for this Total Body Strength Circuit.

The first set:

  • Step ups with an arm raise (10 each arm, 15 lb dumbbell)
  • 15 squat jumps
  • 15 diamond push-ups (girly)

I did three sets of all of these, and after I did three sets I did a 60 second plank.

The second set:

  • Lunges with 15 lb weight in each hand (10 each leg)
  • 15 seated rows
  • 15 Hamstring leg curls

I did three sets of all of these, and after three sets I did a 60 second plank where I alternated my hips and made my right and left sides of my hips touch the floor.

The third set:

  • 15 dips
  • 15 Quad leg curls
  • 15 pull downs on machine (I need to find out the name of this machine, I have no idea. Sorry!)

After completing three rounds of this set I did a 60 second plank where I started on my elbows, went up to my hands, separated my feet, went back down to my elbows, and then brought my feet back in. I will try to upload a video soon to better show this plank. It is a really good plank though, and I can feel the burn much more than on a regular plank. 

I really enjoyed doing this circuit strength workout, and I could definitely feel my muscles burning. On my last plank my arms and legs were shaking the whole time. After I finished the circuit I finished my workout my doing 20 minutes on the elliptical and 5 minutes on the stair stepper. Those last five minutes on the stair stepper were hard since my legs were already sore, but it was a great way to end my workout!

I headed to Wal-Mart when I got done at the gym to get some school supplies and trash bags.

IMG_1326

After Wednesday’s seminar class, I quickly realized that if I wasn’t going to be stressed all semester I needed to get organized. Dividers, notebooks, colored pens, highlighters, and sticky notes were a must!

When I got home I decided a protein shake would taste amazing after my hard workout so I awarded myself with a Peanut Butter protein shake, since yesterday was actually National Peanut Butter Day. Into the blender went:

  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • A handful or two of spinach (You can’t taste this at all in shakes, but you still get the nutrients! It’s in almost all of my shakes now. Beware, it will make your drink green, but I promise you can’t taste it. Ryan even puts spinach in his shakes now!)
  • 1 teaspoon of peanut butter
IMG_1328

If I put peanut butter in my smoothie I like to usuaszlly put in a frozen banana too, but I didn’t have any yesterday. But a little peanut butter is always good, so of course I wasn’t disappointed!

Before dinner Ryan and I played walleyball with our friends at the Rec and then I came back to enjoy some more leftover chicken for dinner.

IMG_1329

I also had some leftover corn, rice, and some salad. I was still a little hungry after I ate this though, so I sliced up an apple.

IMG_1330

Leftovers can make some of the best dinners!

The rest of my night was spent with friends at Overflow, the weekly worship the BSM has every Thursday night.

So thankful for all of the things God has put into my life!

Leave a Reply

