Back to the Grind

I love long weekends, but the day back to school or work after a long weekend is always the worst! I never want to go back. That’s how yesterday was, but once I got up and got going, it was a good day! It got off to a good start with some protein pancakes!

IMG_1283

They were yummy and kept me full for a long time, which is what I needed since I ate breakfast at 6:30 and wouldn’t be able to eat lunch until 11:00 since I was student teaching. That, by the way, is totally not normal for me to go that long without eating! I usually eat about five times a day, which means I eat every few hours. So when I am student teaching, I am always starving by the time lunch rolls around. But anyways, I got this yummy recipe from the wonderful blog, CarrotsnCake. I went by Tina’s protein pancakeΒ recipe, but I made a few changes. Here is exactly what I used.

  • 2/3 cup quick oats
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 2 eggs
  • A little ove 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

I basically doubled the amount of oats and eggs so that I would have more pancakes. It ended up being a lot of pancakes, but like I said, I knew I wasn’t going to get to eat for a while so I wanted to make sure I ate enough! I also cut up some strawberries to eat with my pancakes and on the side. In addition, I had a small glass of almond milk. I sure do love my breakfast!

Also, before I left to go to the school I put a whole chicken in the crock pot. I was really excited to try this because I had never cooked a whole chicken before. I cut up some of an onion and put that in the bottom of the crock pot, placed the chicken in, and seasoned it with salt, pepper, a little garlic powder, and a little Lawry’s Seasoning Salt. I put the crock pot on low and left it to cook the whole time I was at school.

IMG_1282

Here is a picture of the onions in the bottom of the crock pot. I meant to take a picture after I put the chicken in, but I forgot. 😦 Unfortunately, I was really bad at taking pictures yesterday, so I don’t have many pictures at all. But it’s okay, I will get better!!

After I did my student teaching thing I headed back home with my friend, Meagan. Luckily, Meagan is student teaching in the same city I am so we can carpool together.

For lunch yesterday I packed myself a salad with lettuce, turkey lunchmeat, onions, bell pepper, tomato, and fat free Italian dressing. I also enjoyed a nice, crisp apple! I actually thought about taking a picture of my lunch, but I was eating in the teacher’s lounge, and since I haven’t been at this school long, I didn’t want the other teacher’s to think I was weird when I started taking a picture of my food. Next time I will just take a picture of what I pack before I leave in the morning. πŸ™‚

When I got back home I headed to the gym for a weight workout I got from my latest Oxygen magazine. It was a total body resistant band workout, and it was hard! I am going to have to get a band with less resistance for next time because I wasn’t even strong enough to do some of the arm exercises with the band! For those exercises I used 10 pound dumb bells. But it was still a great workout, and I loved feeling my muscles burn. After I did my own circuit I enjoyed a banana before I taught my Six Pack Cycle class.

IMG_1286My cycling class went great; I actually had to turn people away because we ran out of bikes. I hate having to turn people away from my classes because of not having enough bikes! Cycling is one of my favorite classes because I love the challenge, and I love leaving sweaty!

After my class I was starving and so ready to try my chicken that had been cooking in the crock pot all day! (When I got back home at 4:30 I noticed the chicken was done so I turned the crock pot off and left the chicken in there to keep it warm. So it cooked for about 10 hours on low, and by that time it was totally cooked and fell off the bone easily.) Ryan and I walked into my apartment and it smelt great from the chicken. It was already about 7:35 and Ryan had a guys bible study at 8 so I quickly cooked some corn and microwaved me a sweet potato. The final verdict of the whole chicken in the crock pot:

IMG_1285

DELICIOUS! And we had so much chicken left over! I am going to look up some new recipes that involve chicken so that I can use it all. It will also be great for sandwiches and salads throughout the week. And any chicken that I don’t use this week I will freeze to use later. I don’t know why I have never cooked a whole chicken before; it is so much cheaper than buying a bag of frozen chicken breasts, and you get way more chicken! Yummy chicken +leftovers+cheap price=WINNING! Plus, coming home from working all day to a basically already cooked meal is awesome!

Besides a ton of chicken, I am also getting some free chicken broth from this whole chicken! I read that after you cook the chicken, you can put the bones back in the liquid, add about 5 cups of water, and let it cook in the crock pot on low over night. Then in the morning you can put the liquid in tubber ware and refrigerate it. After it is cold there will be a layer of fat on the top that you will have to take off, but then you can freeze it for up to six months. And there you go, free chicken broth! WINNING! Needless to say, I highly recommend buying and cooking a whole chicken. πŸ™‚

After I cleaned the kitchen I decided I wanted to try another new creation since my dinner went so good. I used a frozen banana to make soft serve banana frozen yogurt!

IMG_1287

All I did was take a banana I had put in the freezer a while back and put it in the food processor. Next thing I knew I was eating this small bowl of soft serve frozen yogurt! It was good, but I think the banana had kind of gone bad before I froze it, so I think it could have been better.

The rest of my night was spent doing school work that I should have done before then. Oh procrastination, how you always get me! #lifeofacollegestudent

2 comments

Leave a Reply

